Atmospheric Chemistry and Physics: from air pollution to climate change by
Expanded and updated with new findings and new features New chapter on Global Climate providing a self-contained treatment of climate forcing, feedbacks, and climate sensitivity New chapter on Atmospheric Organic Aerosols and new treatment of the statistical method of Positive Matrix Factorization Updated treatments of physical meteorology, atmospheric nucleation, aerosol-cloud relationships, chemistry of biogenic hydrocarbons Each topic developed from the fundamental science to the point of application to real-world problems New problems at an introductory level to aid in classroom teaching
Chemistry of the Climate System by
Climate change is a major challenge facing the modern world. The chemistry of air and it's influence on the climate system forms the main focus of this monograph. The book presents a problem-based approach to presenting global atmospheric processes, evaluating the effects of changing air composition as well as possibilities for interference within these processes and indicates ways for solving the problem of climate change through chemistry. The new edition includes innovations and latest research results.
Encyclopedia of Aquatic Ecotoxicology by
With its 104 chapters, this Encyclopedia of aquatic ecotoxicology reveals the diversity of issues, problems and challenges that have faced, and are facing today, receiving environments. It also indicates ways by which tools, strategies and future investigations can contribute to correct, minimize, solve and prevent water quality degradation. Structured homogeneously, the chapters convey salient information on historical background, features, characteristics, uses and/or applications of treated topics, often complemented by illustrations and case studies, as well as by conclusions and prospects. This work is most suitable for teaching purposes. Academics, for example, could literally deliver comprehensive lectures to students simply based on chapter outlines and contents. Meet the Authors of the Encyclopedia! Check out 'Meet the Authors' under ADDITIONAL INFORMATION (Right menu).
Introduction to Atmospheric Chemistry by
Atmospheric chemistry is one of the fastest growing fields in the earth sciences. Until now, however, there has been no book designed to help students capture the essence of the subject in a brief course of study. Daniel Jacob, a leading researcher and teacher in the field, addresses that problem by presenting the first textbook on atmospheric chemistry for a one-semester course. Based on the approach he developed in his class at Harvard, Jacob introduces students in clear and concise chapters to the fundamentals as well as the latest ideas and findings in the field. Jacob's aim is to show students how to use basic principles of physics and chemistry to describe a complex system such as the atmosphere. He also seeks to give students an overview of the current state of research and the work that led to this point. Jacob begins with atmospheric structure, design of simple models, atmospheric transport, and the continuity equation, and continues with geochemical cycles, the greenhouse effect, aerosols, stratospheric ozone, the oxidizing power of the atmosphere, smog, and acid rain. Each chapter concludes with a problem set based on recent scientific literature. This is a novel approach to problem-set writing, and one that successfully introduces students to the prevailing issues. This is a major contribution to a growing area of study and will be welcomed enthusiastically by students and teachers alike.
Introduction to Soil Chemistry: analysis and instrumentation by
Provides the tools needed to explore the incredible complexities of the earth's soils Now in its Second Edition, this highly acclaimed text fully equips readers with the skills and knowledge needed to analyze soil and correctly interpret the results. Due to the highly complex nature of soil, the author carefully explains why unusual results are routinely obtained during soil analyses, including the occurrence of methane in soil under oxidative conditions. The text also assists readers in developing their own analytical techniques in order to analyze particular samples or test for particular compounds or properties. The Second Edition of Introduction to Soil Chemistry features four new chapters. Moreover, the entire text has been thoroughly updated and revised. It begins with a review of the history of soil chemistry, introducing fundamental concepts that apply to all soils. Next, the text explores: Basic soil characteristics, horizonation, texture, clay, air, water, solids, organic matter, organisms, and fundamental chemical concepts essential to soil chemistry Tested and proven sampling techniques for soil analysis that provide reliable analytical results Basic soil measurement techniques and extraction procedures Instrumentation to isolate and identify soil chemicals, including plant nutrients and contaminants Detailed examples and figures throughout the text help readers successfully perform soil sampling and analytical methods as well as better understand soil's chemical characteristics. At the end of each chapter, a bibliography and list of references lead to additional resources to explore individual topics in greater depth. Each chapter also offers problem sets, encouraging readers to put their newfound skills into practice. Reflecting the latest research findings and best practices, the Second Edition of Introduction to Soil Chemistry is ideal for both students and soil chemists who want to explore the incredible complexities of the earth's soils.
Metal-Catalyzed Reactions in Water by
Water is abundant in nature, non-toxic, non-flammable and renewable and could therefore be safer and economical for the chemical industry wherever it is used as a solvent. This book provides a comprehensive overview of developments in the use of water as a solvent for metal catalysis, illustrating the enormous potential of water in developing new catalytic transformations for fi ne chemicals and molecular materials synthesis. A group of international experts cover the most important metalcatalyzed reactions in water and bring together cutting-edge results from recent literature with the first-hand knowledge gained by the chapter authors. This is a must-have book for scientists in academia and industry involved in the fi eld of catalysis, greener organic synthetic methods, water soluble ligands and catalyst design, as well as for teachers and students interested in innovative and sustainable chemistry.
Physical and Chemical Processes in the Aquatic Environment by
There is need in environmental research for a book on fresh waters including rivers and lakes. Compared with other books on the topic, this book has a unique outline in that it follows pollution from sources to impact. Included in the text is the treatment of various tracers, ranging from pathogens to stable isotopes of elements and providing a comprehensive discussion which is lacking in many other books on pollution control of natural waters. Geophysical processes are discussed emphasizing mixing of water, interaction between water and the atmosphere, and sedimentation processes. Important geochemistry processes occurring in natural waters are described as are the processes specific to nutrients, organic pollutants, metals, and pathogens in subsequent chapters. Each of these chapters includes an introduction on the selected groups, followed by the physicochemical properties which are the most relevant to their behavior in natural waters, and the theories and models to describe their speciation, transport and transformation. The book also includes the most up to date information including a discussion on emerging pollutants such as brominated and phosphate flame retardants, perflurochemicals, and pharmaceutical and personal care products. Due to its importance an ecotoxicology chapter has been included featuring molecular biological methods, nanoparticles, and comparison of the basis of biotic ligand model with the Weibull dose-response model. Finally, the last chapter briefly summarizes the regulations on ambient water quality.
Soil Carbon by
Few topics cut across the soil science discipline wider than research on soil carbon. This book contains 48 chapters that focus on novel and exciting aspects of soil carbon research from all over the world. It includes review papers by global leaders in soil carbon research, and the book ends with a list and discussion of global soil carbon research priorities. Chapters are loosely grouped in four sections:§ Soil carbon in space and time§ Soil carbon properties and processes§ Soil use and carbon management§ Soil carbon and the environment A wide variety of topics is included: soil carbon modelling, measurement, monitoring, microbial dynamics, soil carbon management and 12 chapters focus on national or regional soil carbon stock assessments. The book provides up-to-date information for researchers interested in soil carbon in relation to climate change and to researchers that are interested in soil carbon for the maintenance of soil quality and fertility. Papers in this book were presented at the IUSS Global Soil C Conference that was held at the University of Wisconsin-Madison, USA.
Soil Chemistry by
Soil is key to sustaining life--affecting air and water quality, the growth of plants and crops, and the health of the entire planet. Soil Chemistry 4e provides comprehensive coverage of the chemical interactions among organic and inorganic solids, air, water, microorganisms, and the plant roots in soil. The fourth edition of Soil Chemistry has been revised and updated throughout and provides a basic description of important research and fundamental knowledge in the field. The text covers chemical processes that occur in soils, including: distribution and species of nutrients and contaminants in soils; aqueous chemistry of soil solutions and mineral dissolution; oxidation and reduction reactions in soils; soil mineral formation processes and properties; the formation and reactivity of soil organic matter; surface chemistry and cation, anion, and organic compound adsorption reactions; modelling soil chemical reactions; and reactions in acid and salt affected soils. Although extensively revised with updated figures and tables, the fourth edition maintains the focus on introductory soil chemistry that has distinguished earlier editions. New chapters on properties of elements relevant to soil chemistry, and a chapter with special focus on soil surface characteristics have been added. Special Topics boxes are also included in the Fourth Edition that includes examples, noteworthy topics, and case studies. End of chapter questions are included as a resource for teaching.
Water Chemistry: an introduction to the chemistry of natural and engineered aquatic systems by
Water Chemistry provides students with the tools necessary to understand the processes that control the chemical species present in waters of both natural and engineered systems. After providing basic information about water itself and the chemical composition of water in environmental systems, the text covers the necessary theory (thermodynamics, activity, and kinetics) and background material to solve problems. It emphasizes that both equilibrium and kinetic processes are important in aquatic systems. The book does not merely focus on inorganic constituents, but also on the fate and reactions of organic chemicals.The solving of quantitative equilibrium and kinetic problems using mathematical, graphical, and computational tools is emphasized throughout presentations on acid-base chemistry, complexation of metal ions, solubility of minerals, and oxidation-reduction reactions. The use of these problem-solving tools is then extended in the presentation of topics relevant to natural systems, including dissolved oxygen, nutrient chemistry, geochemical controls on chemical composition, photochemistry, and natural organic matter. The kinetics and equilibria relevant to engineered systems (e.g., chlorination and disinfection chemistry, sorption and surface chemistry) and organic contaminant chemistry are also discussed. Numerous in-chapter examples that show the application of theory and demonstrate how problems are solved using algebraic, graphical, and computer-based techniques are included. Examples are relevant to both natural waters and engineered systems.
Basic Concepts of Environmental Chemistry by
This text/reference describes the behavior and effects of both natural and man-made organic substances in the environment. It is the first book to explain environmental properties in terms of bonds and molecules, and the first to include toxicity and biological effects among the important properties of organic chemicals. From the characteristics of molecules, to properties of compounds, through distribution and behavior in the environment, and on to effects on living systems, this is a complete look at organic substances, not just a collection of facts. Using the most current information available, it presents not just an introduction to environmental chemistry but also an explanation of how and why environmental processes occur. Basic Concepts of Environmental Chemistry opens with a detailed examination of the basic properties of organic chemicals in the environment. It then expands upon the fundamentals to describe contaminants in the environment and processes that occur in the natural environment. The text concludes with ecotoxicological and risk assessment approaches to the management of hazardous substances. Readers need only a basic knowledge of chemistry to understand the concepts presented in the book. Written in clear, simple language, it is an ideal introductory text for undergraduate and graduate students in the many areas of science that intersect environmental organic chemistry.
Ecological Stoichiometry by
All life is chemical. That fact underpins the developing field of ecological stoichiometry, the study of the balance of chemical elements in ecological interactions. This long-awaited book brings this field into its own as a unifying force in ecology and evolution. Synthesizing a wide range of knowledge, Robert Sterner and Jim Elser show how an understanding of the biochemical deployment of elements in organisms from microbes to metazoa provides the key to making sense of both aquatic and terrestrial ecosystems. After summarizing the chemistry of elements and their relative abundance in Earth's environment, the authors proceed along a line of increasing complexity and scale from molecules to cells, individuals, populations, communities, and ecosystems. The book examines fundamental chemical constraints on ecological phenomena such as competition, herbivory, symbiosis, energy flow in food webs, and organic matter sequestration. In accessible prose and with clear mathematical models, the authors show how ecological stoichiometry can illuminate diverse fields of study, from metabolism to global change. Set to be a classic in the field, Ecological Stoichiometry is an indispensable resource for researchers, instructors, and students of ecology, evolution, physiology, and biogeochemistry. From the foreword by Peter Vitousek: ? "[T]his book represents a significant milestone in the history of ecology. . . . Love it or argue with it--and I do both--most ecologists will be influenced by the framework developed in this book. . . . There are points to question here, and many more to test . . . And if we are both lucky and good, this questioning and testing will advance our field beyond the level achieved in this book. I can't wait to get on with it."
Environment, Energy and Climate Change I: Environmental chemistry of pollutants and wastes by
This volume offers a comprehensive overview of advanced research in the field of environmental green chemistry for air, soil and water pollutants, and presents emerging technologies on the chemical treatment of polluted sites and wastes. The 15 chapters, prepared by internationally respected experts, address the following topics: (1) monitoring of indoor and outdoor air pollutants; (2) atmospheric degradation processes and formation mechanisms of secondary pollutants; (3) the environmental assessment and impacts of soils polluted by heavy metals and hydrocarbons; (4) sustainable and emerging technologies for the chemical treatment of organic and animal wastes and wastewaters; (5) photocatalytic CO2 conversion methods for the mitigation of greenhouse effects; and (6) non-conventional methods in green chemistry synthesis. Lastly, the authors outline the future perspectives of each topic. Given its multidisciplinary approach, combining environmental analysis and engineering, the book offers a valuable resource for all researchers and students interested in environmental chemistry and engineering.
Environmental Chemistry: green chemistry and pollutants in ecosystems by
This book describes advances in this new, fast developing science, which seeks to decipher fundamental mechanisms ruling the behaviour in water, soils, atmosphere, food and living organisms of toxic metals, fossil fuels, pesticides and other organic pollutants. Sections on eco-toxicology, green chemistry, and analytical chemistry round out this thorough survey of conditions and analytical techniques in an emerging specialty.
Environmental Organic Chemistry by
Examines in a pedagogical way all pertinent molecular and macroscopic processes that govern the distribution and fate of organic chemicals in the environment and provides simple modeling tools to quantitatively describe these processes and their interplay in a given environmental system Treats fundamental aspects of chemistry, physics, and mathematical modeling as applied to environmentally relevant problems, and gives a state of the art account of the field Teaches the reader how to relate the structure of a given chemical to its physical chemical properties and intrinsic reactivities Provides a holistic and teachable treatment of phase partitioning and transformation processes, as well as a more focused and tailor-made presentation of physical, mathematical, and modeling aspects that apply to environmental situations of concern Includes a large number of questions and problems allowing teachers to explore the depth of understanding of their students or allowing individuals who use the book for self-study to check their progress Provides a companion website, which includes solutions for all problems as well as a large compilation of physical constants and compound properties
Green Chemical Reactions by
Green Chemistry is an inventive science based on fundamental research towards the development of new sustainable chemical processes. There is a great need to create a new type of chemistry focused on a new production system, in order to prepare the younger generation to get a greener future. The globalization pushes the chemistry community to adopt ethical issues. In this prospect Green Chemistry can achieve the approval of the society by teaching students to be confident in science and at the same time by convincing people that it is possible to attain technological development with respect and care for the environment we live in. This is why it is of foremost importance that education and fundamental research remain strictly connected, so that democracy and development can grow and progress side by side. This book has been prepared to extend the knowledge of Green Chemistry not disregarding, however, the industrial interest. It is the result of the effort to put together and share the expertise of leading practitioners in the field of Green Chemistry. The Interuniversity Consortium 'Chemistry for the Environment' is a non-profit organisation established in 1993 in Italy. At present it includes 31 member universities and 80 research units.
Green Chemistry : an introductory text by
The challenge for today's new chemistry graduates is to meet society's demand for new products that have increased benefits, but without detrimental effects on the environment. Green Chemistry: An Introductory Text outlines the basic concepts of the subject in simple language, looking at the role of catalysts and solvents, waste minimisation, feedstocks, green metrics and the design of safer, more efficient, processes. The inclusion of industrially relevant examples throughout demonstrates the importance of green chemistry in many industry sectors. Intended primarily for use by students and lecturers, this book will also appeal to industrial chemists, engineers, managers or anyone wishing to know more about green chemistry.
Green Chemistry and Catalysis by
This first book to focus on catalytic processes from the viewpoint of green chemistry presents every important aspect: · Numerous catalytic reductions and oxidations methods · Solid-acid and solid-base catalysis · C-C bond formation reactions · Biocatalysis · Asymmetric catalysis · Novel reaction media like e.g. ionic liquids, supercritical CO2 · Renewable raw materials Written by Roger A. Sheldon -- without doubt one of the leaders in the field with much experience in academia and industry -- and his co-workers, the result is a unified whole, an indispensable source for every scientist looking to improve catalytic reactions, whether in the college or company lab.
Green Chemistry and Engineering : a pathway to sustainability by
Although many were skeptical of the green chemistry movement at first, it has become a multimillion-dollar business. In preventing the creation of hazardous wastes, laboratories and corporations can save millions in clean up efforts and related health costs. This book supplies students with concepts commonly taught in undergraduate general chemistry and general engineering courses, but with a green perspective. It is unique in presenting an integrated discussion of green chemistry and engineering from first principles - not as an afterthought. Real-world examples show creative problem solving based on the latest issues.
Green Organic Chemistry: strategies, tools, and laboratory experiments by
Developing the green organic program at the University of Oregon, Kenneth Doxsee and James Hutchison saw the urgent need and rapidly growing demand for green chemistry laboratory materials. This lab text describes the tools and strategies of green chemistry, and the lab experiments that allow investigation of organic chemistry concepts and techniques in a greener laboratory setting. GREEN ORGANIC CHEMISTRY: STRATEGIES, TOOLS AND LABORATORY EXPERIMENTS was developed and successfully tested as a direct replacement of the traditional organic chemistry laboratory curriculum. Thus, the conceptual themes and experimental techniques important to the modern practice of organic chemistry can be taught in the context of more environmentally-benign laboratory experiments. Students acquire the tools to assess the health and environmental impacts of chemical processes and the strategies to improve develop new processes that are less harmful to human health and the environment. The curriculum introduces a number of state-of-the-art experiments and reduces reliance on expensive environmental controls, such as fume hoods.
Handbook of Green Chemistry and Technology by
Sustainable development is now accepted as a necessary goal forachieving societal, economic and environmental objectives. Withinthis chemistry has a vital role to play. The chemical industry is successful but traditionally successhas come at a heavy cost to the environment. The challenge forchemists and others is to develop new products, processes andservices that achieve societal, economic and environmentalbenefits. This requires an approach that reduces the materials and energyintensity of chemical processes and products; minimises thedispersion of harmful chemicals in the environment; maximises theuse of renewable resources and extends the durability andrecyclability of products in a way that increases industrialcompetitiveness as well as improve its tarnished image.
Principles of environmental chemistry by 
Sustainable Green Chemistry by
Sustainable Green Chemistry, the 1st volume of Green Chemical Processing, covers several key aspects of modern green processing. The scope of this volume goes beyond bio- and organic chemistry, highlighting the ecological and economic benefits of enhanced sustainability in such diverse fields as petrochemistry, metal production and wastewater treatment. The authors discuss recent progresses and challenges in the implementation of green chemical processes as well as their transfer from academia to industry and teaching at all levels. Selected successes in the greening of established processes and reactions are presented, including the use of switchable polarity solvents, actinide recovery using ionic liquids, and the removal of the ubiquitous bisphenol A molecule from effluent streams by phytodegradation.
