Titration calorimetry : from concept to application by
This Brief describes the calibration of titration calorimeters (ITCs) and calculation of stoichiometry, equilibrium constants, enthalpy changes, and rate constants for reactions in solution. A framework/methodology for model development for analysis of ITC data is presented together with methods for assessing the uncertainties in determined parameters and test data sets. This book appeals to beginners, as well as to researchers and professionals in the field.
The Aqueous Chemistry of the Elements by
Most fields of science, applied science, engineering, and technology deal with solutions in water. This volume is a comprehensive treatment of the aqueous solution chemistry of all the elements. The information on each element is centered around an E-pH diagram which is a novel aid to understanding. The contents are especially pertinent to agriculture, analytical chemistry, biochemistry, biology, biomedical science and engineering, chemical engineering, geochemistry, inorganic chemistry, environmental science and engineering, food science, materials science, mining engineering, metallurgy, nuclear science and engineering, nutrition, plant science, safety, and toxicology.
Molecular Theory of Water and Aqueous Solutions by
The aim of this book is to explain the unusual properties of both pure liquid water and simple aqueous solutions, in terms of the properties of single molecules and interactions among small numbers of water molecules. It is mostly the result of the author's own research spanning over 40 years in the field of aqueous solutions. An understanding of the properties of liquid water is a prelude to the understanding of the role of water in biological systems and for the evolvement of life.The book is targeted at anyone who is interested in the outstanding properties of water and its role in biological systems. It is addressed to both students and researchers in chemistry, physics and biology.
Metal-Catalyzed Reactions in Water by
Water is abundant in nature, non-toxic, non-flammable and renewable and could therefore be safer and economical for the chemical industry wherever it is used as a solvent. This book provides a comprehensive overview of developments in the use of water as a solvent for metal catalysis, illustrating the enormous potential of water in developing new catalytic transformations for fi ne chemicals and molecular materials synthesis. A group of international experts cover the most important metalcatalyzed reactions in water and bring together cutting-edge results from recent literature with the first-hand knowledge gained by the chapter authors. This is a must-have book for scientists in academia and industry involved in the fi eld of catalysis, greener organic synthetic methods, water soluble ligands and catalyst design, as well as for teachers and students interested in innovative and sustainable chemistry.
Analytical Chemistry 2.1 by
As currently taught in the United States, introductory courses in analytical chemistry emphasize quantitative (and sometimes qualitative) methods of analysis along with a heavy dose of equilibrium chemistry. Analytical chemistry, however, is much more than a collection of analytical methods and an understanding of equilibrium chemistry; it is an approach to solving chemical problems. Although equilibrium chemistry and analytical methods are important, their coverage should not come at the expense of other equally important topics.
The introductory course in analytical chemistry is the ideal place in the undergraduate chemistry curriculum for exploring topics such as experimental design, sampling, calibration strategies, standardization,optimization, statistics, and the validation of experimental results. Analytical methods come and go, but best practices for designing and validating analytical methods are universal. Because chemistry is an experimental science it is essential that all chemistry students understand the importance of making good measurements.
My goal in preparing this textbook is to find a more appropriate balance between theory and practice, between “classical” and “modern” analytical methods, between analyzing samples and collecting samples and preparing them for analysis, and between analytical methods and data analysis. There is more material here than anyone can cover in one semester; it is my hope that the diversity of topics will meet the needs of different instructors, while, perhaps,suggesting some new topics to cover.
Basics of Analytical Chemistry and Chemical Equilibria by
Enables students to progressively build and apply new skills and knowledge Designed to be completed in one semester, this text enables students to fully grasp and apply the core concepts of analytical chemistry and aqueous chemical equilibria. Moreover, the text enables readers to master common instrumental methods to perform a broad range of quantitative analyses. Author Brian Tissue has written and structured the text so that readers progressively build their knowledge, beginning with the most fundamental concepts and then continually applying these concepts as they advance to more sophisticated theories and applications. Basics of Analytical Chemistry and Chemical Equilibria is clearly written and easy to follow, with plenty of examples to help readers better understand both concepts and applications. In addition, there are several pedagogical features that enhance the learning experience, including: Emphasis on correct IUPAC terminology "You-Try-It" spreadsheets throughout the text, challenging readers to apply their newfound knowledge and skills Online tutorials to build readers' skills and assist them in working with the text's spreadsheets Links to analytical methods and instrument suppliers Figures illustrating principles of analytical chemistry and chemical equilibria End-of-chapter exercises Basics of Analytical Chemistry and Chemical Equilibria is written for undergraduate students who have completed a basic course in general chemistry. In addition to chemistry students, this text provides an essential foundation in analytical chemistry needed by students and practitioners in biochemistry, environmental science, chemical engineering, materials science, nutrition, agriculture, and the life sciences.
Chemometric Techniques for Quantitative Analysis by
Chemometric Techniques for Quantitative Analysis shows how to produce and use quantitative analytical calibrations in a laboratory or production environment following a variety of methods, how to estimate the time and resources needed to develop analytical calibrations, and how to employ the quantitative software provided with a wide range of instruments and commercial software packages. Among several, this bestselling volume covers basic and classical approaches, component regression; PCR in action; partial least squares; PLS in action. An extensive appendix offers a glossary, a list of errors and tests for reduced Eigenvalues.
Dean's Analytical Chemistry Handbook by
Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. THE MOST USEFUL TOOL IN ANALYTICAL CHEMISTRY This comprehensive, up-to-date reference offers chemists and chemical engineers detailed coverage of the full range of analytical methods, including all conventional wet and instrumental techniques. It also provides information on the preliminary operations of analysis, preliminary separation methods, quality control and quality assurance, and statistics in chemical analysis. This one-of-a-kind resource presents fundamental data on: Volumetric and Gravimetric Analysis Chromatographic Methods Electronic Absorption and Luminescence Spectroscopy Infrared and Raman Spectroscopy Atomic Spectroscopy Optical Activity and Rotary Dispersion Refractometry X-ray Methods Radiochemical Methods Nuclear Magnetic Resonance Spectroscopy and Electron Spin Resonance Mass Spectrometry Electroanalytical Methods Thermal Analysis Magnetic Susceptibility Organic Fundamental Analysis Detection and Determination of Functional Groups in Organic Compounds Methods of Determination in Water Geological and Inorganic Materials Statistics in Chemical Analysis Water Analysis More NEW CHAPTERS ON: * Analysis of Indoor Air * Pesticide and Herbicide Analysis * Environmental Analysis Including Trace Updates on Processes, Tools, and Techniques
Handbook of Green Analytical Chemistry by
The emerging field of green analytical chemistry is concerned with the development of analytical procedures that minimize consumption of hazardous reagents and solvents, and maximize safety for operators and the environment. In recent years there have been significant developments in methodological and technological tools to prevent and reduce the deleterious effects of analytical activities; key strategies include recycling, replacement, reduction and detoxification of reagents and solvents. The Handbook of Green Analytical Chemistry provides a comprehensive overview of the present state and recent developments in green chemical analysis. A series of detailed chapters, written by international specialists in the field, discuss the fundamental principles of green analytical chemistry and present a catalogue of tools for developing environmentally friendly analytical techniques. Topics covered include: Concepts: Fundamental principles, education, laboratory experiments and publication in green analytical chemistry. The Analytical Process: Green sampling techniques and sample preparation, direct analysis of samples, green methods for capillary electrophoresis, chromatography, atomic spectroscopy, solid phase molecular spectroscopy, derivative molecular spectroscopy and electroanalytical methods. Strategies: Energy saving, automation, miniaturization and photocatalytic treatment of laboratory wastes. Fields of Application: Green bioanalytical chemistry, biodiagnostics, environmental analysis and industrial analysis. This advanced handbook is a practical resource for experienced analytical chemists who are interested in implementing green approaches in their work.
Principles and Practice of Analytical Chemistry by
Over more than two decades this book has established itself as thefirst choice for growing numbers of students and practisinganalysts who require a well-written and concise overview of theprinciples and practice of analytical chemistry. Recurring themesare improvement in medicine and the environment, the I.T.revolution and its continuing impacts on both analyticalmethodology and data handling. The successive editions of Principles and Practice ofAnalytical Chemistry have kept pace with the associateddevelopments in the subject. Significant changes encompassstrengthening of the coverage of data handling, together with newmaterial covering rapidly developing subject areas of molecularspectrometry, atomic spectrometry, and separation techniques.Answers to the self- learning problems and exercises are alsoincluded. All sections of the book have been fully reviewed andupdated as appropriate. The new edition of the book continues to provide a sound andbroad base for the study of analytical chemistry by undergraduateand postgraduate students, and to be a useful resource forpractising analysts, seeking a summary of the principles oftechniques and methods.
Quantitative Analysis by
This introduction to both traditional and modern analytic methods aims to show something of the variety of methodology in modern analytical chemistry.
Infrared Spectroscopy of Biomolecules by
Infrared Spectroscopy of Biomolecules Edited by Henry H. Mantsch and Dennis Chapman Dramatic new advances in the application of infrared spectroscopy to biomolecules and instrumentation are revolutionizing this branch of molecular spectroscopy. Infrared Spectroscopy of Biomolecules provides an up-to-date, detailed look at the different spectroscopic techniques now available and offers a framework for progression in the field, including the evolution of Fourier transform methods, the development of time-resolved techniques and difference spectroscopy, as well as new modulation methods. The book begins with a fundamental introduction to the theories behind both infrared spectroscopy and the Fourier transform method, which lays the groundwork for the instrumental and mathematical chapters that follow. Once the basics of the infrared methods are established, the proceeding chapters cover the application of infrared spectroscopy to proteins, lipids, enzymes, nucleic acids, carbohydrates, and biomembranes. Other chapters in this excellent reference include: Theoretical Analyses of the Amide I Infrared Bands of Globular Proteins Slow and Fast Infrared Kinetic Studies Fourier Transform Infrared Spectroscopy of Cell Surface Polysaccharides What Can Infrared Spectroscopy Tell Us About the Structure and Composition of Intact Bacterial Cells Biomedical Infrared Spectroscopy Editors Henry Mantsch and Dennis Chapman, leading experts in the field, conclude with an exciting look at much-anticipated future developments, including the use of caged compounds and studies of oxidation reduction systems within the IR spectrometer. A solid introduction to the basics with up-to-the-minute coverage of the latest developments in the field, Infrared Spectroscopy of Biomolecules is an indispensable reference tool for biochemists, biophysicists, and structural biologists alike.
Practical Volumetric Analysis by
Proficiency in volumetric analysis is a key skill for chemists in research and industry. Written by someone who has experienced both teaching and working as a research chemist, this up to date textbook on practical volumetric analysis will provide the theoretical chemistry associated with volumetric analysis supported by a selection of practicals. It is suitable for students taking modules in introductory chemistry and analytical chemistry on undergraduate degree courses as well as providing guidance to non-specialists teaching chemistry.