Comprehensive Enzyme Kinetics by
Welcome to your study of enzyme kinetics, the subject that underlies all enzymology, which in turn underlies all aspects of biochemistry. This text will give you an introduction to a wide range of topics that constitute the modern enzyme kinetics. This textbook is directed at graduate students in biochemistry, chemistry, and life sciences, for advanced courses in enzyme kinetics, enzymology, and enzyme chemistry. For this reason, the whole book is organized in a systematic and scholarly fashion. It is unlikely that the student will be expected to cover everything in the text, but in a later career she or he may find it an invaluable reference for topics that are needed in practice. The concepts, definitions and detailed algebra of enzyme kinetics are laid out in accurate detail. For that reason, this textbook can also serve as a handbook for enzyme kinetics for research workers in the field. The research worker will find it a useful source, which can be used for solving the daily experimental problems in the laboratory. The preparation of the manuscript for this book was under the constant surveillance of W. Wallace Cleland, Professor of Chemical Science at the University of Wisconsin in Madison, and one of the founders of modern enzyme kinetics. Without his help and advice, this bookwould not be possible. Several versions of the manuscript were constantly corrected and improved by Svetlana Professor of Biochemistry at the University of Novi Sad.
Enzymatic Reaction Mechanisms by
Books dealing with the mechanisms of enzymatic reactions were written a generation ago. They included volumes entitled Bioorganic Mechanisms, I and II by T.C. Bruice and S.J. Benkovic, published in 1965, the volume entitled Catalysis in Chemistry and Enzymology by W.P. Jencks in 1969, and the volume entitled Enzymatic Reaction Mechanisms by C.T. Walsh in 1979. The Walsh book was based on the course taught by W.P. Jencks and R.H. Abeles at Brandeis University in the 1960's and 1970's. By the late 1970's, much more could be included about the structures of enzymes and the kinetics and mechanisms of enzymatic reactions themselves, and less emphasis was placed on chemical models. Walshs book was widely used in courses on enzymatic mechanisms for many years. Much has happened in the field of mechanistic enzymology in the past 15 to 20 years. Walshs book is both out-of-date and out-of-focus in todays world of enzymatic mechanisms. There is no longer a single volume or a small collection of volumes to which students can be directed to obtain a clear understanding of the state of knowledge regarding the chemicals mechanisms by which enzymes catalyze biological reactions. There is no single volume to which medicinal chemists and biotechnologists can refer on the subject of enzymatic mechanisms. Practitioners in the field have recognized a need for a new book on enzymatic mechanisms for more than ten years, and several, including Walsh, have considered undertaking to modernize Walshs book. However, these good intentions have been abandoned for one reason or another. The great size of the knowledge base in mechanistic enzymology has been a deterrent. It seems too large a subject for a single author, and it is difficult for several authors to coordinate their work to mutual satisfaction. This text by Perry A. Frey and Adrian D. Hegeman accomplishes this feat, producing the long-awaited replacement for Walshs classic text.
Enzymes: a practical introduction to structure, mechanism, and data analysis by
Fully updated and expanded-a solid foundation for understanding experimental enzymology. This practical, up-to-date survey is designed for a broad spectrum of biological and chemical scientists who are beginning to delve into modern enzymology. Enzymes, Second Edition explains the structural complexities of proteins and enzymes and the mechanisms by which enzymes perform their catalytic functions. The book provides illustrative examples from the contemporary literature to guide the reader through concepts and data analysis procedures. Clear, well-written descriptions simplify the complex mathematical treatment of enzyme kinetic data, and numerous citations at the end of each chapter enable the reader to access the primary literature and more in-depth treatments of specific topics. This Second Edition of Enzymes: A Practical Introduction to Structure, Mechanism, and Data Analysis features refined and expanded coverage of many concepts, while retaining the introductory nature of the book. Important new features include: * A new chapter on protein-ligand binding equilibria * Expanded coverage of chemical mechanisms in enzyme catalysis and experimental measurements of enzyme activity * Updated and refined discussions of enzyme inhibitors and multiple substrate reactions * Coverage of current practical applications to the study of enzymology Supplemented with appendices providing contact information for suppliers of reagents and equipment for enzyme studies, as well as a survey of useful Internet sites and computer software for enzymatic data analysis, Enzymes, Second Edition is the ultimate practical guide for scientists and students in biochemical, pharmaceutical, biotechnical, medicinal, and agricultural/food-related research.
Enzymes : catalysis, kinetics and mechanisms by
This enzymology textbook for graduate and advanced undergraduate students covers the syllabi of most universities where this subject is regularly taught. It focuses on the synchrony between the two broad mechanistic facets of enzymology: the chemical and the kinetic, and also highlights the synergy between enzyme structure and mechanism. Designed for self-study, it explains how to design enzyme experiments and subsequently analyze the data collected. The book is divided into five major sections: 1] Introduction to enzymes, 2] Practical aspects, 3] Kinetic Mechanisms, 4] Chemical Mechanisms, and 5] Enzymology Frontiers. Individual concepts are treated as stand-alone chapters; readers can explore any single concept with minimal cross-referencing to the rest of the book. Further, complex approaches requiring specialized techniques and involved experimentation (beyond the reach of an average laboratory) are covered in theory with suitable references to guide readers. The book provides students, researchers and academics in the broad area of biology with a sound theoretical and practical knowledge of enzymes. It also caters to those who do not have a practicing enzymologist to teach them the subject.
Handbook of Proteolytic Enzymes by
Extensively revised and updated, the new edition of the highly regarded Handbook of Proteolytic Enzymes is an essential reference for biochemists, biotechnologists and molecular biologists. Edited by world-renowned experts in the field, this comprehensive work provides detailed information on all known proteolytic enzymes to date. This two-volume set unveils new developments on proteolytic enzymes which are being investigatedin pharmaceutical research for such diseases as HIV, Hepatitis C, and the common cold. Volume I covers aspartic and metallo petidases while Volume II examines peptidases of cysteine, serine, threonine and unknown catalytic type. A CD-ROM accompanies the book containing fully searchable text, specialised scissile bond searches, 3-D color structures and much more. The only comprehensive book on proteolytic enzymes Includes 671 chapters, each written by experts in their field, on proteolytic enzymes from all groups of living organisms and the viruses, including those that are currently major targets of pharmaceutical research Accompanying CD-ROM provides fully searchable text, 2D structures of peptidases in color and links directly to PubMed and MEROPS databases Each chapter describes in detail the enzyme name, its history, activity and specificity, structural chemistry, preparation, biological aspects and distinguishing features Over 1000 peptidases included
Kinetics of Enzyme-Modifier Interactions: selected topics in the theory and diagnosis of inhibition and activation mechanisms by
The kinetic mechanisms by which enzymes interact with inhibitors and activators, collectively called modifiers, are scrutinized and ranked taxonomically into autonomous species in a way similar to that used in the biological classification of plants and animals. The systematization of the mechanisms is based on two fundamental characters: the allosteric linkage between substrate and modifier and the factor by which a modifier affects the catalytic constant of the enzyme. Combinations of the physically significant states of these two characters in an ancestor-descendant-like fashion reveal the existence of seventeen modes of interaction that cover the needs of total, partial and fine-tuning modulation of enzyme activity. These interactions comprise five linear and five hyperbolic inhibition mechanisms, five nonessential activation mechanisms and two hybrid species that manifest either hyperbolic inhibition or nonessential activation characteristics depending on substrate concentration. Five essential activation mechanisms, which are taxonomically independent of the mentioned basic species, complete the inventory of enzyme modifiers. Often masked under conventional umbrella terms or treated as anomalous cases, all seventeen basic inhibition and nonessential activation mechanisms are represented in the biochemical and pharmacological literature of this and the past century, either in the form of rapid or slow-onset reversible interactions, or as irreversible modification processes. The full potential of enzyme inhibitors and activators can only be appreciated after elucidating the details of their kinetic mechanisms of action exploring the entire range of physiologically significant reactant concentrations. This book highlights the wide spectrum of allosteric enzyme modification in physiological occurrences as well as in pharmacological and biotechnological applications that embrace simple and multiple enzyme-modifier interactions. The reader is guided in the journey through this still partly uncharted territory with the aid of mechanistically-oriented criteria aimed at showing the logical way towards the identification of a particular mechanism.
Kinetics of Enzyme Action: Essential Principles for Drug Hunters by
Few scientists have the knowledge to perform the studies that are necessary to discover and characterize enzyme inhibitors, despite the vested interest the pharmaceutical industry has in this field. Beginning with the most basic principles pertaining to simple, one-substrate enzyme reactions and their inhibitors, and progressing to a thorough treatment of two-substrate enzymes, Kinetics of Enzyme Action: Essential Principles for Drug Hunters provides biochemists, medicinal chemists, and pharmaceutical scientists with numerous case study examples to outline the tools and techniques necessary to perform, understand, and interpret detailed kinetic studies for drug discovery.
Biochemistry by
The "Gold Standard" in Biochemistry text books. Biochemistry 4e, is a modern classic that has been thoroughly revised. Don and Judy Voet explain biochemical concepts while offering a unified presentation of life and its variation through evolution. It incorporates both classical and current research to illustrate the historical source of much of our biochemical knowledge.
Biochemistry by
For four decades, this extraordinary textbook played an pivotal role in the way biochemistry is taught, offering exceptionally clear writing, innovative graphics, coverage of the latest research techniques and advances, and a signature emphasis on physiological and medical relevance. Those defining features are at the heart of this edition.
Biochemistry Laboratory Manual for Undergraduates by
Biochemistry laboratory manual for undergraduates - an inquiry based approach by Gerczei and Pattison is the first textbook on the market that uses a highly relevant model, antibiotic resistance, to teach seminal topics of biochemistry and molecular biology while incorporating the blossoming field of bioinformatics. The novelty of this manual is the incorporation of a student-driven real real-life research project into the undergraduate curriculum. Since students test their own mutant design, even the most experienced students remain engaged with the process, while the less experienced ones get their first taste of biochemistry research. Inclusion of a research project does not entail a limitation: this manual includes all classic biochemistry techniques such as HPLC or enzyme kinetics and is complete with numerous problem sets relating to each topic.
Essential Biochemistry by
Essential Biochemistry, 3rd Edition is comprised of biology, pre-med and allied health topics and presents a broad, but not overwhelming, base of biochemical coverage that focuses on the chemistry behind the biology. Furthermore, it relates the chemical concepts that scaffold the biology of biochemistry, providing practical knowledge as well as many problem-solving opportunities to hone skills. Key Concepts and Concept Review features help students to identify and review important takeaways in each section.
Lippincott Illustrated Reviews: Biochemistry by
Lippincott Illustrated Reviews: Biochemistry is the long-established, first-and-best resource for the essentials of biochemistry. Students rely on this text to help them quickly review, assimilate, and integrate large amounts of critical and complex information. For more than two decades, faculty and students have praised this best-selling biochemistry textbook for its matchless illustrations that make concepts come to life. Master all the latest biochemistry knowledge, thanks to extensive revisions and updated content throughout, including an expanded chapter on macronutrients, a completely new chapter on micronutrients, and much more. A bonus chapter on blood clotting with new, additional questions is included online. See how biochemistry applies to everyday healthcare through integrative, chapter-based cases as well as "Clinical" boxes throughout. Learn and study effortlessly with a concise outline format, abundant full-color artwork, and chapter overviews and summaries. Look for icons that signal an animation at thePoint or an integrative clinical case in the Appendix. Assess and reinforce your learning with more than 200 new review questions available online.
A Manual for Biochemistry Protocols by
Biochemistry plays an important role in all areas of the biological and medical sciences. With most of the research or diagnosis involved in these areas being based on biochemically obtained observations, it is essential to have a profile of well standardized protocols.This manual is a basic guide for all students, researchers and experts in biochemistry, designed to help readers in directly starting off their experiments without prior knowledge of the protocol. The book dwells on the concepts used in designing the methodologies, thereby giving ample room for researchers to modify them according to their research requirements.
Oxford Dictionary of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology by
Arranged in A-to-Z order, the more than 17,000 entries provide basic information about fundamental, physiochemical laws, chemical compounds, constants, and formulae. The Dictionary also describes the essential features of some 2,000 enzymes and proteins, the reactions they catalyze and the functions they perform. These entries also include filenames to facilitate the location of entries in databases of sequences and definitions of 950 abbreviations and symbols. Designed for students, teachers, researchers and other professionals in any area of the biomedical sciences, the Dictionary has been fully updated anf revised to incorporate new information discovered since the original edition was published in 1997.
Principles of Biochemistry by
Lehninger Principles of Biochemistry is the #1 bestseller for the introductory biochemistry course because it brings clarity and coherence to an often unwieldy discipline, offering a thoroughly updated survey of biochemistry's enduring principles, definitive discoveries, and groundbreaking new advances with each edition. This new Seventh Edition maintains the qualities that have distinguished the text since Albert Lehninger's original edition--clear writing, careful explanations of difficult concepts, helpful problem-solving support, and insightful communication of contemporary biochemistry's core ideas, new techniques, and pivotal discoveries. Again, David Nelson and Michael Cox introduce students to an extraordinary amount of exciting new findings without an overwhelming amount of extra discussion or detail. And with this edition, W.H. Freeman and Sapling Learning have teamed up to provide the book's richest, most completely integrated text/media learning experience yet, through an extraordinary new online resource: SaplingPlus.
Amino Acid Metabolism by
Amino Acid Metabolism, 3rd Edition covers all aspects of the biochemistry and nutritional biochemistry of the amino acids. Starting with an overview of nitrogen fixation and the incorporation of inorganic nitrogen into amino acids, the book then details other major nitrogenous compounds in micro-organisms, plants and animals. Contents include a discussion of the catabolism of amino acids and other nitrogenous compounds in animals, and the microbiological reactions involved in release of nitrogen gas back into the atmosphere. Mammalian (mainly human) protein and amino acid requirements are considered in detail, and the methods that are used to determine them. Chapters consider individual amino acids, grouped according to their metabolic origin, and discussing their biosynthesis (in plants and micro-organisms for those that are dietary essentials for human beings), major metabolic roles (mainly in human metabolism) and catabolism (again mainly in human metabolism). There is also discussion of regulatory mechanisms for all these metabolic pathways, and of metabolic and genetic diseases affecting the (human) metabolism of amino acids. Throughout the book the emphasis is on the nutritional importance of amino acids, integration and control of metabolism and metabolic and other disturbances of relevance to human biochemistry and health. Completely revised edition of this comprehensive text covering all the latest findings in amino acid metabolism research Written by an authority in the field Covers new advances in structural biology Clear illustrations of all structures and metabolic pathways Full list of recommended further reading for each chapter and bibliography of papers cited in the text
Functional Metabolism: regulation and adaptation by
Functional Metabolism of Cells is the first comprehensive survey of metabolism, offering an in-depth examination of metabolism and regulation of carbohydrates, lipids, and amino acids. It provides a basic background on metabolic regulation and adaptation as well as the chemical logic of metabolism, and covers the interrelationship of metabolism to life processes of the whole organism. The book lays out a structured approach to the metabolic basis of disease, including discussion of the normal pathways of metabolism, altered pathways leading to disease, and use of molecular genetics in diagnosis and treatment of disease. It also takes a unique comparative approach in which human metabolism is a reference for metabolism in microorganisms and plant design, and presents novel coverage of development and aging, and human health and animal adaptation. The final chapter reviews the past and future promise of new genetic approaches to treatment and bioinformatics. This, the most exhaustive treatment of metabolism currently available, is a useful text for advanced undergraduates and graduates in biochemistry, cell/molecular biology, and biomedicine, as well as biochemistry instructors and investigators in related fields.
Fundamentals of Protein Structure and Function by
This book serves as an introduction to protein structure and function. Starting with their makeup from simple building blocks, called amino acids, the 3-dimensional structure of proteins is explained. This leads to a discussion how misfolding of proteins causes diseases like cancer, various encephalopathies, or diabetes. Enzymology and modern concepts of enzyme kinetics are then introduced, taking into account the physiological, pharmacological and medical significance of this often neglected topic. This is followed by thorough coverage of hæmoglobin and myoglobin, immunoproteins, motor proteins and movement, cell-cell interactions, molecular chaperones and chaperonins, transport of proteins to various cell compartments and solute transport across biological membranes. Proteins in the laboratory are also covered, including a detailed description of the purification and determination of proteins, as well as their characterisation for size and shape, structure and molecular interactions. The book emphasises the link between protein structure, physiological function and medical significance. This book can be used for graduate and advanced undergraduate classes covering protein structure and function and as an introductory text for researchers in protein biochemistry, molecular and cell biology, chemistry, biophysics, biomedicine and related courses. About the author: Dr. Buxbaum is a biochemist with interest in enzymology and protein science. He has been working on the biochemistry of membrane transport proteins for nearly thirty years and has taught courses in biochemistry and biomedicine at several universities.
Protein Folding: an introduction by
This snapshot volume is designed to provide a smooth entry into the field of protein folding. Presented in a concise manner, each section introduces key concepts while providing a brief overview of the relevant literature. Outlook subsections will pinpoint specific aspects related to emerging methodologies, concepts and trends.
Proteins: Biochemistry and Biotechnology by
Proteins Biochemistry and Biotechnology 2e is a definitive source of information for all those interested in protein science, and particularly the commercial production and isolation of specific proteins, and their subsequent utilization for applied purposes in industry and medicine. Fully updated throughout withnbsp; new or fundamentally revised sectionsnbsp; on proteomics as, bioinformatics, protein glycosylation andnbsp; engineering,nbsp; well as sections detailing advances in upstream processing andnbsp; newer proteinnbsp; applications such as enzyme-based biofuel productionnbsp; this new edition has an increased focus on biochemistry to ensure the balance between biochemisty and biotechnology, enhanced with numerous case studies. This second edition is an invaluable text for undergraduates of biochemistry and biotechnology but will also be relevant to students of microbiology, molecular biology, bioinformatics and any branch of the biomedical sciences who require a broad overview of the various medical, diagnostic and industrial uses of proteins. * Provides a comprehensive overview of all aspects of protein biochemisty and protein biotechnology * Includes numerous case studies * Increased focus on protein biochemistry to ensure balance between biochemisty and biotechnology * Includes new section focusing on proteomics as well as sections detailing protein function and enzyme-based biofuel production "With the potential of a standard reference source on the topic, any molecular biotechnologist will profit greatly from having this excellent book. " (Engineering in Life Sciences, 2004; Vol 5; No. 5) "Few texts would be considered competitors, and none compare favorably." (Biochemistry and Molecular Education, July/August 2002) "...The book is well written, making it informative and easy to read..." (The Biochemist, June 2002)
Proteins: concepts in biochemistry by
Proteins: Concepts in Biochemistry teaches the biochemical concepts underlying protein structure, evolution, stability, folding, and enzyme kinetics, and explains how interactions in macromolecular structures determine protein function. Intended for a one-semester course in biochemistry or biophysical chemistry with a focus on proteins, this textbook emphasizes the logic underlying biophysical chemical principles. Problems throughout the book encourage statistical and quantitative thinking. The text is ideal for senior undergraduates, first year graduate students, and practitioners in chemistry, biochemistry, biology, and biophysics.
Protein Structure, Stability, and Folding by
In Protein Structure, Stability, and Folding, Kenneth P. Murphy and a panel of internationally recognized investigators describe some of the newest experimental and theoretical methods for investigating these critical events and processes. Among the techniques discussed are the many methods for calculating many of protein stability and dynamics from knowledge of the structure, and for performing molecular dynamics simulations of protein unfolding. New experimental approaches presented include the use of co-solvents, novel applications of hydrogen exchange techniques, temperature-jump methods for looking at folding events, and new strategies for mutagenesis experiments. Unique in its powerful combination of theory and practice, Protein Structure, Stability, and Folding offers protein and biophysical chemists the means to gain a more comprehensive understanding of some of this complex area by detailing many of the major techniques in use today.
