General reference sources provide basic background information on a variety of subjects. These types of sources are ideal when beginning research, in particular if little is known about the research topic. Use the information you find in general reference sources to guide the research process toward more specific information.
All reference books are located on the 2nd floor of the Hackelmeier Memorial Library.
The Statesman's Yearbook 2016
by
THE STATESMAN'S YEARBOOK 2016 This classic reference work presents a political, economic and social account of every country of the world together with facts and analysis. The 2016 edition includes: • Revised and updated biographical profiles of all current leaders • Extensive updates to country economic overviews • Expanded and updated historical introductions • Chronology of key political events from April 2014 to March 2015 • Comprehensive coverage of major international organizations • SPECIAL FEATURE: Barry Turner explores the Suez crisis 60 years ago; plus a timeline of these dramatic events • NEW: 2014 in 1,000 words—a summary of the key events that dominated the world during the year • Detailed maps of all 194 countries How… many UNESCO World Heritage sites are there in Italy? When… was the last time someone other than a Democrat or a Republican was the president of the United States? Where… did Beji Caid Essebsi become president in 2014 at the age of 88? Which… country has the largest oil reserves? Who… became his country's first indigenous president in 2006?
Blackwell Encyclopedia of Political Thought
Enclyclopedia of Global Change: Environmental Change and Human Society
Encyclopedia of American Foreign Policy
Encyclopedia of the Modern Middle East and North Africa
Encyclopedia of the Stateless Nations, Vol. I, A-C: Ethnic and National Groups around the World
Encyclopedia of the Stateless Nations, Vol. II, D-K: Ethnic and National Groups around the World
Encyclopedia of the Stateless Nations: Volume III, L-R: Ethnic and National Groups Around the World
Encyclopedia of the Stateless Nations, Vol. IV, S-Z: Ethnic and National Groups around the World
Handbook of Global Environmental Politics
by
