Advanced Linear Algebra by Steven A. RomanThis is a graduate textbook covering an especially broad range of topics. The first part of the book contains a careful but rapid discussion of the basics of linear algebra, including vector spaces, linear transformations, quotient spaces, and isomorphism theorems. The author then proceeds to modules, emphasizing a comparison with vector spaces. A thorough discussion of inner product spaces, eigenvalues, eigenvectors, and finite dimensional spectral theory follows, culminating in the finite dimensional spectral theorem for normal operators. The second part of the book is a collection of topics, including metric vector spaces, metric spaces, Hilbert spaces, tensor products, and affine geometry. The last chapter discusses the umbral calculus, an area of modern algebra with important applications.The second edition contains two new chapters: a chapter on convexity, separation and positive solutions to linear systems and a chapter on the QR decomposition, singular values and pseudoinverses. expanded and there is now a discussion of determinants (in the chapter on tensor products), the complexification of a real vector space, Schur's lemma and Gersgorin disks.
Call Number: Available as an ebook
Publication Date: 2005-03-01
Differential Equations with Linear Algebra by Matthew R. Boelkins; Jack L. Goldberg; Merle C. PotterLinearity plays a critical role in the study of elementary differential equations; linear differential equations, especially systems thereof, demonstrate a fundamental application of linear algebra. In Differential Equations with Linear Algebra, we explore this interplay between linear algebra and differential equations and examine introductory and important ideas in each, usually through the lens of important problems that involve differential equations. Written at a sophomore level, the text is accessible to students who have completed multivariable calculus. With a systems-first approach, the book is appropriate for courses for majors in mathematics, science, and engineering that study systems of differential equations. Because of its emphasis on linearity, the text opens with a full chapter devoted to essential ideas in linear algebra. Motivated by future problems in systems of differential equations, the chapter on linear algebra introduces such key ideas as systems of algebraic equations, linear combinations, the eigenvalue problem, and bases and dimension of vector spaces. This chapter enables students to quickly learn enough linear algebra to appreciate the structure of solutions to linear differential equations and systems thereof in subsequent study and to apply these ideas regularly. The book offers an example-driven approach, beginning each chapter with one or two motivating problems that are applied in nature. The following chapter develops the mathematics necessary to solve these problems and explores related topics further. Even in more theoretical developments, we use an example-first style to build intuition and understanding before stating or proving general results. Over 100 figures provide visual demonstration of key ideas; the use of the computer algebra system Maple and Microsoft Excel are presented in detail throughout to provide further perspective and support students' use of technology in solving problems. Each chapter closes with several substantial projects for further study, many of which are based in applications. Errata sheet available at: www.oup.com/us/companion.websites/9780195385861/pdf/errata.pdf
Call Number: QA372 .B63
Publication Date: 2009-11-05
Indefinite Linear Algebra and Applications by Israel Gohberg; Peter Lancaster; Leiba RodmanThis book covers recent results in linear algebra with indefinite inner product. It includes applications to differential and difference equations with symmetries, matrix polynomials and Riccati equations. These applications are based on linear algebra in spaces with indefinite inner product. The latter forms an independent branch of linear algebra called indefinite linear algebra. This new subject is presented following the principles of a standard linear algebra course.
Publication Date: 2005-10-18
Linear Algebra by Belkacem Said-HouariThis self-contained, clearly written textbook on linear algebra is easily accessible for students. It begins with the simple linear equation and generalizes several notions from this equation for the system of linear equations and introduces the main ideas using matrices. It then offers a detailed chapter on determinants and introduces the main ideas with detailed proofs. The third chapter introduces the Euclidean spaces using very simple geometric ideas and discusses various major inequalities and identities. These ideas offer a solid basis for understanding general Hilbert spaces in functional analysis. The following two chapters address general vector spaces, including some rigorous proofs to all the main results, and linear transformation: areas that are ignored or are poorly explained in many textbooks. Chapter 6 introduces the idea of matrices using linear transformation, which is easier to understand than the usual theory of matrices approach. The final two chapters are more advanced, introducing the necessary concepts of eigenvalues and eigenvectors, as well as the theory of symmetric and orthogonal matrices. Each idea presented is followed by examples. The book includes a set of exercises at the end of each chapter, which have been carefully chosen to illustrate the main ideas. Some of them were taken (with some modifications) from recently published papers, and appear in a textbook for the first time. Detailed solutions are provided for every exercise, and these refer to the main theorems in the text when necessary, so students can see the tools used in the solution. .-- Provided by publisher.
Linear Algebra Done Right by Sheldon AxlerThis best-selling textbook for a second course in linear algebra is aimed at undergrad math majors and graduate students. The novel approach taken here banishes determinants to the end of the book. The text focuses on the central goal of linear algebra: understanding the structure of linear operators on finite-dimensional vector spaces. The author has taken unusual care to motivate concepts and to simplify proofs. A variety of interesting exercises in each chapter helps students understand and manipulate the objects of linear algebra. The third edition contains major improvements and revisions throughout the book. More than 300 new exercises have been added since the previous edition. Many new examples have been added to illustrate the key ideas of linear algebra. New topics covered in the book include product spaces, quotient spaces, and dual spaces. Beautiful new formatting creates pages with an unusually pleasant appearance in both print and electronic versions. No prerequisites are assumed other than the usual demand for suitable mathematical maturity. Thus the text starts by discussing vector spaces, linear independence, span, basis, and dimension. The book then deals with linear maps, eigenvalues, and eigenvectors. Inner-product spaces are introduced, leading to the finite-dimensional spectral theorem and its consequences. Generalized eigenvectors are then used to provide insight into the structure of a linear operator.
Call Number: Available as an ebook
Publication Date: 2014-11-05
Basic Modern Algebra with Applications by Mahima Ranjan Adhikari; Avishek AdhikariThe book is primarily intended as a textbook on modern algebra for undergraduate mathematics students. It is also useful for those who are interested in supplementary reading at a higher level. The text is designed in such a way that it encourages independent thinking and motivates students towards further study. The book covers all major topics in group, ring, vector space and module theory that are usually contained in a standard modern algebra text. In addition, it studies semigroup, group action, Hopf's group, topological groups and Lie groups with their actions, applications of ring theory to algebraic geometry, and defines Zariski topology, as well as applications of module theory to structure theory of rings and homological algebra. Algebraic aspects of classical number theory and algebraic number theory are also discussed with an eye to developing modern cryptography. Topics on applications to algebraic topology, category theory, algebraic geometry, algebraic number theory, cryptography and theoretical computer science interlink the subject with different areas. Each chapter discusses individual topics, starting from the basics, with the help of illustrative examples. This comprehensive text with a broad variety of concepts, applications, examples, exercises and historical notes represents a valuable and unique resource.
Call Number: Available as an ebook
Publication Date: 2013-12-18
Classical Algebra : its nature, origins, and uses by Roger CookeThis insightful book combines the history, pedagogy, and popularization of algebra to present a unified discussion of the subject. Classical Algebra provides a complete and contemporary perspective on classical polynomial algebra through the exploration of how it was developed and how it exists today. With a focus on prominent areas such as the numerical solutions of equations, the systematic study of equations, and Galois theory, this book facilitates a thorough understanding of algebra and illustrates how the concepts of modern algebra originally developed from classical algebraic precursors. This book successfully ties together the disconnect between classical and modern algebraand provides readers with answers to many fascinating questions that typically go unexamined, including: What is algebra about? How did it arise? What uses does it have? How did it develop? What problems and issues have occurred in its history? How were these problems and issues resolved? The author answers these questions and more, shedding light on a rich history of the subject--from ancient and medieval times to the present. Structured as eleven "lessons" that are intended to give the reader further insight on classical algebra, each chapter contains thought-provoking problems and stimulating questions, for which complete answers are provided in an appendix. Complemented with a mixture of historical remarks and analyses of polynomial equations throughout, Classical Algebra: Its Nature, Origins, and Uses is an excellent book for mathematics courses at the undergraduate level. It also serves as a valuable resource to anyone with a general interest in mathematics.
Call Number: QA155 .C66
Publication Date: 2008-03-07
Introduction to Algebra by Peter J. CameronDeveloped to meet the needs of modern students, this Second Edition of the classic algebra text by Peter Cameron covers all the abstract algebra an undergraduate student is likely to need. Starting with an introductory overview of numbers, sets and functions, matrices, polynomials, and modular arithmetic, the text then introduces the most important algebraic structures: groups, rings and fields, and their properties. This is followed by coverage of vector spaces and modules with applications to abelian groups and canonical forms before returning to the construction of the number systems, including the existence of transcendental numbers. The final chapters take the reader further into the theory of groups, rings and fields, coding theory, and Galois theory. With over 300 exercises, and web-based solutions, this is an ideal introductory text for Year 1 and 2 undergraduate students in mathematics.
Call Number: Available as an ebook
Publication Date: 2010-01-10
Introductory Modern Algebra: a historical approach by Saul StahlPresenting a dynamic new historical approach to the study of abstract algebra Much of modern algebra has its roots in the solvability of equations by radicals. Most introductory modern algebra texts, however, tend to employ an axiomatic strategy, beginning with abstract groups and ending with fields, while ignoring the issue of solvability. This book, by contrast, traces the historical development of modern algebra from the Renaissance solution of the cubic equation to Galois's expositions of his major ideas. Professor Saul Stahl gives readers a unique opportunity to view the evolution of modern algebra as a consistent movement from concrete problems to abstract principles. By including several pertinent excerpts from the writings of mathematicians whose works kept the movement going, he helps students experience the drama of discovery behind the formulation of pivotal ideas. Students also develop a more immediate and well-grounded understanding of how equations lead to permutation groups and what those groups can tell us about multivariate functions and the 15-puzzle. To further this understanding, Dr. Stahl presents abstract groups as unifying principles rather than collections of "interesting" axioms. This fascinating, highly effective alternative to traditional survey-style expositions sets a new standard for undergraduate mathematics texts and supplies a firm foundation that will continue to support students' understanding of the subject long after the course work is completed. An Instructor's Manual presenting detailed solutions to all the problems in the book is available upon request from the Wiley editorial department.
Call Number: QA162 .S72
Publication Date: 1996-12-11
Sherlock Holmes in Babylon and Other Tales of Mathematical History by Marlow Anderson (Editor); Victor Katz (Editor); Robin Wilson (Editor)Covering a span of almost 4000 years, from the ancient Babylonians to the eighteenth century, this collection chronicles the enormous changes in mathematical thinking over this time, as viewed by distinguished historians of mathematics from the past and the present. Each of the four sections of the book (Ancient Mathematics, Medieval and Renaissance Mathematics, The Seventeenth Century, The Eighteenth Century) is preceded by a Foreword, in which the articles are put into historical context, and followed by an Afterword, in which they are reviewed in the light of current historical scholarship. In more than one case, two articles on the same topic are included, to show how knowledge and views about the topic changed over the years. This book will be enjoyed by anyone interested in mathematics and its history - and in particular by mathematics teachers at secondary, college, and university levels.
Call Number: QA21 .S43 (also as an ebook)
Publication Date: 2004-12-31
Undergraduate Algebra by Serge A. LangThe companion title, Linear Algebra, has sold over 8,000 copies The writing style is very accessible The material can be covered easily in a one-year or one-term course Includes Noah Snyder's proof of the Mason-Stothers polynomial abc theorem New material included on product structure for matrices including descriptions of the conjugation representation of the diagonal group
Publication Date: 2005-03-21
Unknown Quantity: a real and imaginary history of algebra by John DerbyshirePrime Obsession taught us not to be afraid to put the math in a math book. Unknown Quantity heeds the lesson well. So grab your graphing calculators, slip out the slide rules, and buckle up John Derbyshire is introducing us to algebra through the ages -- and it promises to be just what his die-hard fans have been waiting for. "Here is the story of algebra." With this deceptively simple introduction, we begin our journey. Flanked by formulae, shadowed by roots and radicals, escorted by an expert who navigates unerringly on our behalf, we are guaranteed safe passage through even the most treacherous mathematical terrain. Our first encounter with algebraic arithmetic takes us back 38 centuries to the time of Abraham and Isaac, Jacob and Joseph, Ur and Haran, Sodom and Gomorrah. Moving deftly from Abel's proof to the higher levels of abstraction developed by Galois, we are eventually introduced to what algebraists have been focusing on during the last century. As we travel through the ages, it becomes apparent that the invention of algebra was more than the start of a specific discipline of mathematics -- it was also the birth of a new way of thinking that clarified both basic numeric concepts as well as our perception of the world around us. Algebraists broke new ground when they discarded the simple search for solutions to equations and concentrated instead on abstract groups. This dramatic shift in thinking revolutionized mathematics. Written for those among us who are unencumbered by a fear of formulae, Unknown Quantity delivers on its promise to present a history of algebra. Astonishing in its bold presentation of the math and graced with narrative authority, our journey through the world of algebra is at once intellectually satisfying and pleasantly challenging.
Call Number: QA151 .D37 (Also as an ebook)
Publication Date: 2006-06-02
Abstract Algebra : an Introduction with Applications by Derek J. S. RobinsonThis is a high level introduction to abstract algebra which is aimed at readers whose interests lie in mathematics and in the information and physical sciences. In addition to introducing the main concepts of modern algebra, the book contains numerous applications, which are intended to illustrate the concepts and to convince the reader of the utility and relevance of algebra today. In particular applications to Polya coloring theory, latin squares, Steiner systems and error correcting codes are described. Another feature of the book is that group theory and ring theory are carried further than is often done at this level. There is ample material here for a two semester course in abstract algebra. The importance of proof is stressed and rigorous proofs of almost all results are given. But care has been taken to lead the reader through the proofs by gentle stages. There are nearly 400 problems, of varying degrees of difficulty, to test the reader's skill and progress. The book should be suitable for students in the third or fourth year of study at a North American university or in the second or third year at a university in Europe, and should ease the transition to (post)graduate studies.
An Introduction to Abstract Algebra by Derek J. S. RobinsonThis is a high level introduction to abstract algebra which is aimed at readers whose interests lie in mathematics and in the information and physical sciences. In addition to introducing the main concepts of modern algebra, the book contains numerous applications, which are intended to illustrate the concepts and to convince the reader of the utility and relevance of algebra today. In particular applications to Polya coloring theory, latin squares, Steiner systems and error correcting codes are described. Another feature of the book is that group theory and ring theory are carried further than is often done at this level. There is ample material here for a two semester course in abstract algebra. The importance of proof is stressed and rigorous proofs of almost all results are given. But care has been taken to lead the reader through the proofs by gentle stages. There are nearly 400 problems, of varying degrees of difficulty, to test the reader's skill and progress. The book should be suitable for students in the third or fourth year of study at a North American university or in the second or third year at a university in Europe.