LibGuides: Public Health: Find Articles

CDC recommended databases

Find articles and reports on various public health topics.

Cochrane Open Access
Collection of six databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making.
Digital Commons Network
Free, full-text scholarly articles from hundreds of universities and colleges worldwide, including peer-reviewed journal articles, book chapters, dissertations, working papers, conference proceedings, and other original scholarly work.
Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)
Community-curated online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals.
GRAFT
Search across all the world’s academic repositories. (jurn.org)
JURN
Search millions of free academic articles, chapters and theses.
News from JURN
The ‘news’ page on the Jurn website (the search tool for open access content) has a Guide to Academic Search that lists various free search engines and tools focused on open access research articles.
OpenDOAR
Directory of open access repositories searchable by host country.
PLOS
Non-profit Open Access publisher with a mission to accelerate progress in science and medicine by leading a transformation in research communication.
PubMed
U.S. National Library of Medicine and the National Institutes of Health maintain this database of biomedical and life science articles.
Regional Medical Libraries via NNLM
Library that provides equal access to biomedical information. The Program is coordinated by the National Library of Medicine and carried out through a nationwide network of health science libraries and information centers. Users may need an institutional affiliation to access some of the resources.
Wellcome Collection
Free medical history library that is useful for archival research.
World Health Organization
Online access to research published by WHO on a broad range of health topics.

CDC website

Additional recommended databases

CINAHL Cumulative Index Nursing & Allied Health Literature (via Ebscohost) This link opens in a new window
Full text for nursing and allied health journals included in the CINAHL index covers biomedicine, health sciences, alternative medicine, and more
ERIC This link opens in a new window
Starting research point for education research, from preschool to college.
The Education Resources Information Center (ERIC) is an index of education research developed and supported by the U.S. Department of Education. It lists 1.5 million sources dating from 1966 to the present, with robust search functions including a thesaurus of works and phrases that represent subjects in the field of education. A strength is its extensiveness and selectivity of English language education research, while a weakness is its limited options for full text. INSPIRE.
MEDLINE -- Ebsco This link opens in a new window
Extensive listing of medical scholarly journal articles compiled by the U.S. government, some available full text.
MEDLINE is an index of life sciences and biomedical research developed and supported by the U.S. National Institutes of Health. It lists 27 million sources from 1966 to the present with robust search functions including an up to date thesaurus of words and phrases that represent subjects in the medical field. A strength is its extensiveness and selectivity of medical research, while a weakness is its limited options for full text (approximately 15% of the collection is full text). INSPIRE.
Ovid Databases (Advanced MEDLINE Search) This link opens in a new window
Access to advanced MEDLINE searching and LWW eBooks & eJournals.
PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new window
This full-text psychology database contains articles from highly-cited and landmark journals published by the APA, its imprint the Educational Publishing Foundation (EPF), and from allied organizations including the Canadian Psychological Association and the Hogrefe Publishing Group
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Articles (and article summaries) from journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations covering behavioral science and mental health.
PubMed@Marian This link opens in a new window
This specific Pubmed link provides full-text access to all Marian University full-text articles. Consists of biomedical literature (MEDLINE) as a search tool for accessing literature citations and linking to full-text journals.
Social Sciences Full Text (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new window
Full-text scholarly journals in the social sciences.
Social Sciences Full Text provides access to a wide assortment of English-language journals published in the social sciences. This resource provides the full text of 150 non-open access journals and detailed indexing for over 800 periodicalsthe vast majority are peer-reviewed. Over 220 titles are not held in Academic Search Complete, of these 60 are currently full-text (19 with a 12-month embargo) and about 40 have some full text but stopped over 3 years ago. (H.W. Wilson) INSPIRE.
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
This database is the world's most comprehensive and highest-quality sociology research database. Its extensive scope and content provide users with a wealth of extremely useful information encompassing the broad spectrum of sociological study. The database features millions of records with subject headings from a sociological thesaurus designed by subject experts and expert lexicographers.

Databases with a regional focus

African Index Medicus
The World Health Organization, in collaboration with the Association for Health Information and Libraries in Africa (AHILA), produces this international index to African health literature and information sources.
CiNii Articles (Scholarly Academic Information Navigator)
A database with a Japan focus that can be used to search information on academic articles published in academic society journals, university research bulletins or articles included in the National Diet Library's Japanese Periodicals Index Database and databases.
LILACS
LILACS is the most important and comprehensive index of scientific and technical literature of Latin America and the Caribbean.
SciELO: Scientific Electronic Library Online
A bibliographic database and digital library of open access journals with a focus on literature published in developing countries, primarily in South America.
Virtual Health Library
Find more sources for Latin America and the Caribbean here, beyond LILACS and SciELO.