The Art of the Saint John's Bible: the complete reader's guide by
From the time that pages of The Saint John's Bible began touring in major exhibitions nearly a decade ago, people have been moved, captivated, and inspired by this stunning work of modern sacred art. But they often have questions about the illuminations that are scattered throughout the Bible, especially as they first become familiar with it. Why was a certain Scripture passage chosen for illumination rather than another? What materials and source imagery are behind the illuminations? The Art of The Saint John's Bible provides answers to these important questions and many others. Initially published in a series of three volumes, each book has now been revised by the author and included together in this helpful single volume. Since The Saint John's Bible is now complete, Susan Sink makes connections between recurring images and motifs throughout the work and reflects on the images with a view to the whole. Her book promises to intensify and expand the experience of all who come in contact with The Saint John's Bible.
Illuminating Justice: the ethical imagination of the Saint John's Bible by
Illuminating Justice explores the call to social ethics in The Saint John's Bible, the first major handwritten and hand-illuminated Christian Bible since the invention of the printing press. Situating his close analysis of The Saint John's Bible's illuminations in the context of contemporary biblical exegesis and Catholic teaching, Homrighausen shows how this project stimulates the ethical imagination of its readers and viewers on matters of justice for women, care for creation, and dialogue between Jews and Christians. Written for scholars, pastors, teachers, and any fan of The Saint John's Bible, this book shows how beauty and justice intertwine in this wondrous illuminated Bible for the new millennium.
Illuminating the Word: the making of the Saint John's Bible by
2006 Catholic Press Association Award Winner! In this companion volume to The Saint John's Bible,Christopher Calderhead takes us on a behind-the-scenes tour of this extraordinary project. Based on hundreds of hours of interviews, this book tells the story of the makers of the Bible and the community at Saint John's Abbey and University. The day-to-day struggles of such a monumental undertaking included challenges such as the selection and preparation of more than 250 calf skins, as well as forming a team of calligraphers accustomed to working independently and communicating the concerns of the advisory council in Minnesota with the artists in Wales. Illuminating the Word: The Making of The Saint John's Bibleexplores a modern version of an age-old relationship between patron and sponsor, and the artistic director, scribes and artists producing this monumental artwork. It describes lectio divina, the unique method the Benedictine monks use to read the Bible, in which the Holy Scriptures come alive through the power of imagination. It explores the challenge of creating new images for ancient stories. It chronicles the artistic techniques, the tools and materials and the workshop practices Donald Jackson used to create his lifetime masterpiece. Illuminating the Word reveals the working process behind one of the greatest undertakings of our time and vividly brings to life its challenges and triumphs. Christopher Calderhead is a visual artist and graphic designer who has exhibited his letter-based works in the United States and Great Britain. He graduated from Princeton with a bachelor's degree in Art History. His early interest in the English Arts and Crafts movement and formal pen lettering led him to the Roehampton Institute in London, where he studied calligraphy under Ann Camp. In 1988 he was elected to Fellowship in the Society of Scribes and Illuminators. In 1998 he obtained a Master of Divinity degree from Seabury-Western Theological Seminary. Ordained the same year, he has served parishes in the Church of England and the Episcopal Church USA. He is editor of Alphabet, a journal of the lettering arts published by the Friends of Calligraphy. His series of short radio pieces, Looking for Spirituality at Tate Modern," was broadcast on BBC Radio Cambridgeshire in 2002. His book, One Hundred Miracles, a collection of miracle paintings by the great masters, was published in 2004. He lives and works in New York City. The Saint John's Bibleand Illuminating the Word were commissioned by Saint John's Abbey and University as an expression of the Benedictine monks' daily focus on scripture and commitment to books, art and religious culture.
Praying the Word by
2009 Catholic Press Association Award Winner! The magnificent text treatments found within The Saint John's Biblewere created to honor some of the most cherished prayers and wisdom texts of the Bible. With unique calligraphy and colorful embellishments, these text treatments give life to the passages they reveal. A collection of these glorious portrayals of our faith can now be found in the new book, Praying the Word: Illuminated Prayers and Wisdom from The Saint John's Bible. This exquisite treasury follows the tradition of lectio divinaand serves as a companion for personal prayer and meditation. The beautiful hardcover design features a cloth finish with slipcase and ribbon bookmark. Praying the Wordembodies the significance of prayer life and makes a wonderful gift at confirmations, weddings, and other special occasions in the lives of family and friends. Special Features: Contains more than 25 text treatment reproductions from The Saint John's BibleHardcover, bound in beautiful saifu cloth Slipcase Ribbon bookmark Full color throughout Beatitudes from Gospels and Acts--Matthew 5:3-12 Canticle of Mary from Gospels and Acts--Luke 1:46-55 Canticle of Zechariah from Gospels and Acts--Luke 1:68-79 You Shall Love the Lord Your God from Gospels and Acts--Matthew 22:37-40 Hear, O Israel from Gospels and Acts--Mark 12:29-31 Canticle of Simeon from Gospels and Acts--Luke 2:29-32 Lord's Prayer from Gospels and Acts--Matthew 6:9-13 You Shall Love the Lord Your God from Gospels and Acts--Luke 10:27 Those Who Believe In Me from Gospels and Acts--John 11:25-26 Repent and Be Baptized from Gospels and Acts--Acts 2:38 The Alien from Pentateuch--Leviticus 19:34-35 The Lord Bless You from Pentateuch--Numbers 6:24-26 Hear O Israel from Pentateuch--Deuteronomy 6:4-5 I Call Heaven and Earth from Pentateuch--Deuteronomy 30:19-20 Make Yourselves Clean from Prophets--Isaiah 1:16-17 He Shall Judge Between the Nations from Prophets--Isaiah 2:4 Comfort, O Comfort My People from Prophets--Isaiah 40:1-5 Listen To Me, O Coastlands from Prophets--Isaiah 49:1-4 Arise, Shine from Prophets--Isaiah 60:1-3 Now the Word of the Lord from Prophets--Jeremiah 1:4-10 Do Justice, Love Kindness, Walk Humbly from Prophets--Micah 6:8 Psalm 150 from Psalms--Psalm 150 Psalm 107 from Psalms--Psalm 107 Psalm 90 from Psalms--Psalm 90 Psalm 73 from Psalms--Psalm 73 Psalm 42 from Psalms--Psalm 42
Word and Image: the hermeneutics of the Saint John's Bible by
In Word and Image, Michael Patella explores the principles, intentions, and aims of The Saint John's Bible- the first handwritten and hand-illuminated Bible commissioned by a Benedictine abbey since the invention of the printing press. Patella focuses not on how it was made but on how it can be read, viewed, and interpreted in a way that respects biblical inspiration and Christian tradition in our postmodern context. It is a book that is sure to appeal to academics, pastors, teachers, and educated laypersons. Patella considers this Bible in the context of the great Christian tradition of illuminated Bibles across the ages and also the fascinating ways The Saint John's Biblereflects third-millennium concerns. He seeks to rekindle interest in sacred art by allowing The Saint John's Bible to teach its readers and viewers how to work with text and image. As an accomplished Scripture scholar, a highly regarded teacher, a monk of Saint John's Abbey, and the chair of the Committee on Illumination and Text that provided the Vision to the artists who created it, Patella may be the only one who could write this book with such insight, expertise, and love. Michael Patella, OSB, SSD, is professor of New Testament at the School of Theology*⊂Seminary of Saint John's University, Collegeville, where he also serves as seminary rector. His books includeAngels and Demons: A Christian Primer of the Spiritual World (Liturgical Press, 2012), The Lord of the Cosmos: Mithras,Paul, and the Gospel of Mark(T&T Clark, 2006), andThe Gospel according to Lukeof the New Collegeville Bible Commentary Series(Liturgical Press, 2005). He has been a frequent contributor to The Bible Today and is a member of the Catholic Biblical Association. He served as chair of the Committee on Illumination and Text forThe Saint John's Bible.
All volumes of the Saint John's Bible trade publication are available for loan from the Library's Course Reserves section at the circulation desk. The loan period is set to one week. To view all the SJB works in our collection, click the following link for a listing from the library catalog.
The Saint John's Bible: Volume 1, Pentateuch by
The third of seven full-color reproductions from The Saint John's Bible, Pentateuchis foundational to both Judaism and Christianity. Pentateuchfeatures text and illuminations of the first five books of the Old Testament (Genesis, Exodus, Leviticus, Numbers and Deuteronomy) known as the Torah in Judaism. Prominent illuminations include Creation, Garden of Eden, Adam and Eve, Jacob's Ladder, Abraham and Sarah, the Ten Commandmentsand the Death of Moses. In beautiful handwritten script and elegant design, the Pentateuch contains the cherished stories of faith that are thousands of years old. This book provides an artistic interpretation of humanity's oldest literature 'still recited as living history. That these stories are significant to Jewish and Christian traditions is not surprising since they reflect the hopes, dreams, fears, and deeds of people living side by side with the earth's oldest civilizations. Over time, these spiritual descendants of Abraham and Sarah introduced God to all the inhabitants of the Middle East and beyond. Their message was simple. God and his creation are good; evil enters when prideful humans go their own way. Nonetheless, God continues to love unconditionally. Donald Jackson is one of the world's leading calligraphers and the artistic director and illuminator of The Saint John's Bible. He is a Senior Illuminator to the Queen of England's Crown Office and is an elected Fellow and past Chairman of the prestigious Society of Scribes and Illuminators. His 30-year retrospective exhibition, Painting with Words, premiered at the Minneapolis Institute of Arts in Minneapolis, Minnesota, in August,1988 and traveled to 13 museums and galleries.
The Saint John's Bible: Volume 2, Historical books by
Historical Booksis the sixth of seven full color reproduction books from The Saint John's Bible. Of all the different genres comprising the Bible, perhaps no other collection has caused as much discomfort within the reader as the historical books. The wars and bloodshed their stories contain have inspired pious and holy people to the greatest extremes of behavior, all in the name of following God's will. While Joshua, Judges, Samuel, Kings, Judith, and Esther contain many off-putting stories, they also have their share of inspirational passages; moreover, works such as Ruth and Tobit are both edifying and endearing. The historical books follow a trajectory that goes beyond the books themselves. A close reading of the text reveals that the winners, or God's people, are not necessarily painted in glowing terms, and the neighboring peoples are not always presented as evil. Here lies the key to the interpretation of the historical books. While many themes are evident throughout the historical books, it is quite possible that the most important is the understanding that God's history of dealing with people is not neat and tidy. Humankind, left to its own devices, can spiral downward into moral abyss, even as we proclaim fidelity to the Lord. Because God's love is unwavering, we as people created by God have been spared the worst we could possibly do to ourselves and others. As the largest book in the series, Historical Booksfeatures more than twenty-five stunning illuminations as well as multiple text treatments and marginal details that dramatically depict the Bible's inspiring and thought-provoking passages. Through beautiful handwritten script and elegant design, this volume illustrates how the grace of God's justice and peace can rise from the most unlikely of places, reminding us that our redemption is always close at hand.
The Saint John's Bible: Volume 3, Wisdom books by
Wisdom Books, the fifth volume of The Saint John's Bibleto be released, includes some of the Old Testament's literary masterpieces, including Song of Solomon, Ecclesiastes, and Proverbs. Also in this volume is the much-loved book of Job and two Old Testament works including the Wisdom of Solomon, which was originally written in Greek, and Sirach, which comes to us from the Greek tradition. Wisdom Bookscontinues the work of earlier volumes, with a script created by calligrapher Donald Jackson specifically for this project. Artists that will be familiar to readers, Thomas Ingmire, Suzanne Moore, Chris Tomlin, and Sally Mae Joseph, are joined by new contributing artist Diane M. von Arx to bring light 'that is, illumination 'to the text. And the images are not to be missed. There are over fifteen large illuminations, among them the spectacular frontispiece for Ecclesiastes and another titled Creative Wisdom. Additionally, to recognize the team of calligraphers that have bonded during six years of work and to capitalize on the aphoristic nature of these books, there is a special emphasis on text treatments. As you spend time with Wisdom Books, you will find yourself treasuring both the words and the images in your heart. The Wisdom books exemplify the practical spirituality of the people of Israel. Using story, poetry, and aphorisms, the books collect practical wisdom to help guide people in how to live 'faithful to God, with praise and thankfulness, walking in ways that are upright. The profoundly moving story of Job asks how a good person can suffer if God is just. The Song of Solomon, long read as an allegorical love poem between God and the chosen people of Israel, or as Christ and the church, takes us beyond the commands of the prophets and lessons of history. It steps back from Israel's struggle to be faithful to the Lord and concentrates on the loving relationship between the Lord and the Beloved. Sirach and Proverbs, along with Psalms, are quoted throughout the Rule of St. Benedict. Like the Rule, their pages are filled with wisdom for how to live a godly life. The Saint John's Biblevolume Wisdom Booksdraws out these themes 'wisdom as a female figure, use of Proverbs in the Rule of St. Benedict, and God's love for us. If we today want to live wisely, we would do well to look to this beautifully illuminated collection of ancient texts. Donald Jackson is one of the world's leading calligraphers and the artistic director and illuminator of The Saint John's Bible. He is a Senior Illuminator to the Queen of England's Crown Office and is an elected Fellow and past Chairman of the prestigious Society of Scribes and Illuminators. His 30-year retrospective exhibition, Painting with Words, premiered at the Minneapolis Institute of Arts in Minneapolis, Minnesota, in August, 1988 and traveled to 13 museums and galleries. The launch of a national museum tour of the The Saint John's Biblebegan at The Minneapolis Institute of Arts in Minneapolis, Minnesota in April 2005 where record crowds greeted the inaugural exhibit during its three-month run. The Saint John's Biblewill continue its national exhibition tour that includes museums and galleries from throughout the United States and Europe including The Tyler Museum of Art in Tyler, Texas, June8-September 3, 2006; The Museum of Biblical Art in New York, New York, September 6-November 26; The Library of Congress in Washington, D.C., October 6-December 15, 2006; The Naples Museum of Art in Naples, Florida, January 26-April 16, 2007; The Phoenix Art Museum in Phoenix, Arizona, December 21, 2007-March 7, 2008; and The Mobile Museum of Art in Mobile, Alabama, October 10, 2008-April 10, 2009.
The Saint John's Bible: Volume 4, Psalms by
2007 Catholic Press Association Award Winner! The second of seven full-color, page-by-page reproductions from The Saint John's Bible, Psalmsengages the eye and ear with five distinct scripts and exquisite illuminations that include digital voice prints of sacred songs from many ethnic and religious traditions. The Book of Psalms or praises is known as the prayer book of the Bible. For centuries, it has been a source of prayer, devotion, and inspiration. Part of the popularity of the Psalms is that they incorporate the entire breadth of human emotion and experience 'joy, fear, anger, love 'al the things we bring to God in our prayer. Visual representations of chants from Benedictine, Native American, Muslim, Taoist and other traditions are the basis for illuminations of the Psalms. The varying pitch of the chants is rendered graphically to provide a motif for the abstract illumination. Every Psalm page features a small gold image that graphically renders the chanting of the monks from Saint John's Abbey. This process of reading of the Psalms is a continuous reminder that the Psalms are to be sacred songs 'and that in such singing God is present. Jackson chose colors to represent different themes, and designs to symbolize the different types of Psalms. He devised a way of weaving the two together that resulted in a unique script, colors and shading. Readers can identify the patterns representing the national history of Israel corresponding with the individual types of Psalms. The way the Psalms appear in The Saint John's Bibleprovide a way to read our favorite Psalms with new eyes so that we might truly see the Psalms whether they are sung or read poetically. Notes regarding PsalmsIlluminations Donald Jackson is one of the world's leading calligraphers and the artistic director and illuminator of The Saint John's Bible. He is a Senior Illuminator to the Queen of England's Crown Office and is an elected Fellow and past Chairman of the prestigious Society of Scribes and Illuminators. His 30-year retrospective exhibition, Painting with Words, premiered at the Minneapolis Institute of Arts in Minneapolis, Minnesota, in August,1988 and traveled to 13 museums and galleries. The launch of a national museum tour of the The Saint John's Biblebegan at The Minneapolis Institute of Arts in Minneapolis, Minnesota in April 2005 where record crowds greeted the inaugural exhibit during its three-month run. The Saint John's Biblewill continue its national exhibition tour that includes museums and galleries from throughout the United States and Europe. Learn more about The Saint John's Bible exhibit. "
The Saint John's Bible: Volume 5, Prophets by
2008 Catholic Press Association Award Winner! Prophetsis the fourth of seven full-color reproduction books of The Saint John's Bible,featuring some of the most beautiful passages in all of Sacred Scripture. The ancient prophets of Israel suffered and celebrated with the people they both admonished and praised. They provided words of consolation during times of oppression and kept the flame of hope alive during the darkest periods of Israelite and Jewish history. Christians honor the prophets as those who foretold the coming of the Messiah, Jesus Christ, as is evidenced by the many references to the prophets in the New Testament. The prophetic message is as relevant today as it was in ancient Israel. The prophets continue to call us to respond to God's love and offer their unvarnished judgment on our behavior. Jackson's images amplify the prophetic word, keeping the flame of hope alive today. Prophets includes artistic depictions from Isaiah, Ezekiel, Jeremiah, Micah, Amos, Daniel, and Zechariah. Major images are Isaiah's Vision of the New Temple, Suffering Servant, Ezekiel's Cal, Valley of the Dry Bones, Daniel's Son of Man, Amos ' Plea for Social Justice,and Zechariah's Messianic Predictions.In addition, famous passages such as Isaiah 2:4 He shall judge between the nations, and shall arbitrate for many peoples; they shall beat their swords into plowshares, and their spears into pruning hooks; nation shall not lift up sword against nation, neither shall they learn war any more receive special calligraphic and artistic treatment. Donald Jackson is one of the world's leading calligraphers and the artistic director and illuminator of The Saint John's Bible. He is a Senior Illuminator to the Queen of England's Crown Office and is an elected Fellow and past Chairman of the prestigious Society of Scribes and Illuminators. His 30-year retrospective exhibition, Painting with Words,premiered at the Minneapolis Institute of Arts in Minneapolis, Minnesota, in August, 1988 and traveled to 13 museums and galleries.
The Saint John's Bible: Volume 6, Gospels and Acts by
2006 Catholic Press Association Award Winner! The first of seven full-color, page-by-page reproductions from The Saint John's Bible, Gospels and Acts has more than 25 illuminations, including full-page opening illuminations for each of the four gospels. Some of the prominent illuminations include the Genealogy of Jesus, the Birth of Christ, the Raising of Lazarus, the Crucifixion, Christ Our Light, the Last Supper, the Road to Emmaus, and Pentecost. The Word of God, hand-illuminated through ancient methods by a contemporary master, brings the reader to an epiphany of the sacred. Those who allow themselves to savor the experience unfolding before them will come to see how Gospels and Acts beautifully marries text and image to serve the Word. An internationally respected calligrapher, Donald Jackson is the artistic director and illuminator of The Saint John's Bible. He is a Senior Scribe to Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth's Crown Office at the House of Lords in the United Kingdom, a position in which he is responsible for the creation of official state documents. He is an elected Fellow and past Chairman of the prestigious Society of Scribes and Illuminators. His 30-year retrospective exhibition, Painting with Words, premiered at The Minneapolis Institute of Arts in Minneapolis, Minnesota in August, 1988 and traveled to 13 museums and galleries. Donald Jackson works with a team of theologians and artists from Saint John's University and Abbey on The Saint John's Bible. From his scriptorium in Wales, he oversees scribes, artists, and craftsmen who work with him on the handwriting and illumination of the seven-volume, 1,150-page Bible.
The Saint John's Bible: Volume 7, Letters and Revelation by
After more than twelve years, the creation of The Saint John's Biblehas reached its remarkable conclusion. Renowned calligrapher and illuminator Donald Jackson has collaborated with scribes, artists, and theologians to hand- create, with stunning lettering and exquisite illustrations, the entire Bible. The complete project spans seven volumes in published form. Letters and Revelationis the final volume of the entire monumental project. It includes some of the most crucial works of all the Christian Scriptures: epistles traditionally attributed to Paul, John, Peter, James, and Jude, and the fascinating book of Revelation. Donald Jackson's artistic vision lends them a new life and vibrancy for modern readers. Letters and Revelationcontains more than thirty illuminations and special text treatments. Among the stunning illuminations: And Every Tongue Should Confess (Philippians 2:5-11) includes the word "Lord" painted in gold in fourteen different languages: Armenian, Chinese, Coptic, Greek, English, French, Ge'ez (Ethiopian), German, Italian, Japanese, Korean, Portuguese, Russian, and Vietnamese Letter to the Seven Churches with the Heavenly Choir (Revelation 2:1-5:14), includes crosses representing several different Christian traditions and the words "Holy, Holy, Holy" written in Greek, Ge'ez (Ethiopian), and Latin The Four Horsemen of the Apocalypse (Revelation 6:1-8) depicts unsettling symbols of power, greed, and exploitation-military tanks, oil rigs, and nuclear power. Written and drawn entirely by hand using quills and paints hand-ground from precious minerals and stones-such as lapis lazuli, malachite, silver, and 24-karat gold- The Saint John's Biblecelebrates the tradition of medieval manuscripts while embracing twenty-first-century technology to facilitate the design process and collaboration between Saint John's Abbey in Collegeville, Minnesota, and Donald Jackson's scriptorium in Wales.