Browse these selected call number ranges established by the Library of Congress classification for categories of social work and service topics:
Additionally, Search for a call number below
Appraising and Using Social Research in the Human Services by
The importance of 'evidence based practice' in health and social work has been emphasised by recent policy and legislative initiatives, but how do professionals decide which research findings are valuable and relevant to them? This accessible introduction provides social work students and practitioners with the knowledge they need both to evaluate research and to apply it to their own practice.Exploring the range of research methodologies used in health and social care, from randomised control trials to surveys, interviews, experimental designs and ethnographic approaches, Michael Sheppard discusses the strengths and limitations of each and shows the reader how to identify the assumptions underlying them.Sheppard uses case examples from practice to demonstrate how research messages can be applied in a range of situations, from developing social services for ethnic minority groups to working with an individual suffering from mental illness. Each chapter includes exercises and questions to test the reader's understanding of key concepts in each chapter, as well as examples of research articles for guided discussion. Appraising and Using Social Research in the Human Services is both a core textbook for social work undergraduates and a useful resource for all trainers, practitioners, service managers and postqualifying students in health and social care.
Doing a Literature Review in Health and Social Care by
This popular book demystifies literature reviewing and answers the questions students have about how to tackle the process.
The Profession of Social Work by
An expert introduction to the foundations of the social work profession--from its historical roots to its evolution in an era of evidence-based practice The Profession of Social Work provides a broad overview of the history, scope, values, ethics, and organizational framework of the social work profession. Exploring professional ethics and human rights, evidence-based practice and practice-guided research, as well as emerging trends and issues, this important book presents topics of critical importance to anyone considering a career in social work. Each chapter in the text offers an array of pedagogical features, including Key Terms, Review Questions for Critical Thinking, and Online Resources. Ideal for introductory courses for both undergraduate and graduate students, The Profession of Social Work features coverage closely aligned with social work accreditation standards (EPAS) and includes chapters authored by established scholars on topics including: Social work history Social work education Professional credentialing and regulations Values and ethics The strengths perspective in social work practice Evidence-based practice and improving the scientific base for social work practice Contemporary issues in social work With a wealth of insider insights into and guidance on the profession of social work, this book is essential reading to prepare for a career in this field.
Qualitative Research in Social Work by
`A really fine book... an impressive work that adds much to the development of the use of qualitative methodology in social work research' - William J Reid, University at Albany 'The back cover of the book proclaims that "Qualitative Research in Social Work will be essential reading for all students, practitioners and researchers undertaking social work research." That just about sums it up for me' - British Journal of Social Work `This book is a significant milestone in the development of social work research. It is characterized by an unparalleled command of the field of qualitative research in social work, and by a commitment to an understanding of the demands and potential of day-to-day social work practice' - Mike Fisher, Director of Research, National Institute for Social Research `Qualitative Research in Social Work edited by Ian Shaw and Nick Gould, provides a state-of-the-art exposition and analysis of qualitative inquiry in relation to social work.... The book has an unusual degree of coherence for one with several authors. The five chapters by the editors (parts one and three) do an exceptional job of providing the necessary background information and setting the context for the six application chapters and of highlighting and discussing the issues raised in those chapters. The editors are respected scholars well-versed in the theory and practice of qualitative research. Similarly, the contributing authors represent both considerable experience in this field and a diversity of interests. This combination makes Qualitative Research in Social Work an excellent text for students, practitioners, and researchers alike. It is a benchmark for social work progress in this area and points the way for the continued development of qualitative inquiry' - Professor Stanley L Witkin, Department of Social Work, University of Vermont There is a clear need for a book which treats qualitative research as a substantive theme within social work, setting epistemological and methodological issues in a context whereby the agenda is set by, and is relevant to, social work. Qualitative Research in Social Work is just such a book and will be immensely useful for students, practitioners and researchers interested in and undertaking social work research. In the introductory chapters the co-authors set qualitative research within a context of social work developments and problems. The central section provides additional topicality and directness through specially commissioned chapters from leading figures in this field each covering key qualitative methods and relating them to social work settings, and the final section which reviews qualitative research in social work, and aims to exemplify ways in which social work thought and practice can be advanced through research.
Research for Social Workers by
The book is an accessible introduction to research methods specifically needed in social work and social welfare. It outlines the major stages of research projects step by step, covering both quantitative and qualitative methods.
Social Work Practice Research for the Twenty-First Century by
Social work professionals must demonstrate their effectiveness to legislators and governments, not to mention clients and incoming practitioners. A thorough evaluation of the activities, ethics, and outcomes of social work practice is critical to maintaining the public's investment and interest in the profession and to ensuring that underserved populations are well served. Incorporating the concerns of a new century into a consideration of models for practice research, this volume largely builds on the visionary work of William J. Reid (1928-2003) who transformed social work research through empirically-based and task-centered approaches-and, more recently, synthesized current intervention knowledge for framing future study. This collection reviews Reid's task-centered model and other contemporary Evidence-Based Practice models (EBPs) for working with individuals, families, groups, communities, and organizations. Essays demonstrate the value of these pragmatic approaches as applied in U.S. and international settings. Contributors also summarize state-of-the-art methods in several key fields of service, including children and families, aging, substance abuse, and mental health. They evaluate the research movement itself, outlining an agenda for today's sociopolitical landscape and for the profession. This volume will inspire practice research to further the use of evidence as a base for the profession.
Social Work Practice with Groups, Communities, and Organizations by
A solid, theory-to-practice guide to contemporary mezzo and macro social work Written by a renowned team of scholars, Social Work Practice with Groups, Communities, and Organizations focuses on the contemporary theory and practice of social work. Each chapter delves deeply into the key theoretical considerations surrounding a particular practice area, exploring the clinical implications of each. Spanning the full range of both mezzo and macro practice areas, the authors thoroughly look at the assessment of and interventions with group, community, organizational, and institutional settings. The most authoritative book in this field, Social Work Practice with Groups, Communities, and Organizations features: A focus on evidence-based approaches to assessment and intervention for each practice area discussed Comprehensive coverage of the most important new and emerging practice technologies in mezzo and macro social work Current and emerging demographic, social, political, and economic trends affecting mezzo and macro practice An array of pedagogical aids, including Key Terms, Review Questions for Critical Thinking, and Online Resources Content closely aligned with social work accreditation standards (EPAS) Providing a solid review of the entire scope of contemporary mezzo and macro social work practice, Social Work Practice with Groups, Communities, and Organizations is both an indispensable educational text for students and a valuable working resource for practitioners who work with groups, communities, and organizations of all sizes.
Social Work Speaks: National Association of Social Workers policy statements, 2015-2017 by Use Interlibrary Loan (ILL) when our library doesn't have a resource you need.
Interlibrary loan service is offered at no charge to all current students, faculty, and staff
The library requests articles, books, and media on your behalf from other institutions.
Requests can be initiated through the catalog or databases.
What an ILL request button may look like:
