SWK 350 - Social Work Research and Assessment: Evidence Based Practice

The Campbell Library of Systematic Reviews provides free online access to systematic reviews in the areas of education, criminal justice and social welfare. The library is a peer-reviewed source of reliable evidence of the effects of interventions.

Blueprints for Violence Prevention has identified 11 prevention and intervention programs that meet a strict scientific standard of program effectiveness. Program effectiveness is based upon an initial review by CSPV and a final review and recommendation from a distinguished Advisory Board, comprised of seven experts in the field of violence prevention. The 11 model programs, called Blueprints, have been effective in reducing adolescent violent crime, aggression, delinquency, and substance abuse. Another 18 programs have been identified as promising programs. To date, more than 600 programs have been reviewed.

The EBP Substance Abuse Database is a small, but growing, database of evidence-based interventions for treating substance use disorders. Interventions were selected according to criteria described on the About EBP page. Each record in the database includes a description of the intervention and its implementation, populations for which it has been shown to be effective, references to supporting literature, the availability of instructional manuals, and author/developer notes and other useful information.

The Evaluation Center’s EBP Metabase v 1.0 is a searchable database of meta-analyses related of mental health interventions. It allows the user to find an intervention related to outcomes of interest and review the evidence of effectiveness.

Substance Abuse and Mental Health Administration [Behavioral / HIV / Education / Misuse]

This site summarizes the findings from well-designed randomized controlled trials that, in their view, have particularly important policy implications — because they show, for example, that a social intervention has a major effect, or that a widely-used intervention has little or no effect. They limit the discussion to well-designed randomized controlled trials based on persuasive evidence that they are superior to other study designs in measuring an intervention’s true effect.

To help those working in drug abuse prevention, NIDA, in cooperation with the prevention scientists, presents examples of research-based programs that feature a variety of strategies proven to be effective. Each program was developed as part of a research study, which demonstrated that over time youth who participated in the programs had better outcomes than those who did not. The programs are presented within their audience category (universal, selective, indicated, or tiered).

NREPP is a searchable database of interventions for the prevention and treatment of mental and substance use disorders. SAMHSA has developed this resource to help people, agencies, and organizations implement programs and practices in their communities.