It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This page was created for EDU 307 in order to provide further resources on the types of learning theories addressed in class: Behaviorism, Cognitivism, Constructivism, Humanism, Connectivism, Experimental Learning, and Multiple Intelligences. Have a great resource you'd like to see added? I'd love to hear it! Email Caitlin at email@example.com with any questions or additions.
This textbook on Instructional Design for Learning is a must for all education and teaching students and specialists. It provides a comprehensive overview about the theoretical foundations of the various models of Instructional Design and Technology from its very beginning to the most recent approaches.
Click View ebook, then Download book pdf or download chapter in order to view the pdf online and download it if desired.
Defines learning and shows how the learning process is studied. Clearly written and user-friendly, Introduction to the Theories of Learning places learning in its historical perspective and provides appreciation for the figures and theories that have shaped 100 years of learning theory research. The 9th edition has been updated with the most current research in the field.
Call Number: 3-hour Course Reserves - ask for this book at the circulation desk
Publication Date: 2002-12-30
Learning theories are a crucial element of education studies for anyone involved with students from pre-school to higher education and business training. This book is a substantive dictionary of over 500 terms relating to learning theories and environments. Definitions range from approximately 100 to 700 words, and each term is identified by the primary type of learning theory to which it applies: cognitivism, constructivism, behaviorism, humanism, or organizational learning. An annotated bibliography provides further resources to the most important writings about learning theories.
The promise of online learning--flexible, learner-centered, responsive--was forward-looking and poised to revolutionize education. But too often online learning courses have little room for student engagement and their design does not reflect the potential for interactive and collaborative learning. Design Alchemy counters this trend by synthesizing the art and science of educational design to model a whole that transcends the sum of its parts.
The Instructional Design Knowledge Base: Theory, Research and Practiceprovides ID professionals and students at all levels with a comprehensive exploration of the theories and research that serve as a foundation for current and emerging ID practice. This book offers both current and classic interpretations of theory from a range of disciplines and approaches. It encompasses general systems, communication, learning, early instructional, media, conditions-based, constructivist design and performance-improvement theories.
Learning sciences is an interdisciplinary field that studies teaching and learning. The sciences of learning include cognitive science, educational psychology, computer science, anthropology, sociology, neuroscience, and other fields. The Cambridge Handbook of the Learning Sciences, first published in 2006, shows how educators can use the learning sciences to design more effective learning environments - including school classrooms and also informal settings such as science centers or after-school clubs, on-line distance learning, and computer-based tutoring software.
Intelligence Quest provides an in-depth overview of the IQuest--what it is and how you can adapt it for use in any subject or any classroom. McKenzie breaks down the nine intelligences into three domains: thinking critically, thinking within, and thinking outward; provides example IQuests for each; and links each IQuest to the corresponding NETS*S. This new instructional model will push your thinking and help you develop meaningful learning experiences.
Howard Gardner's theory of multiple intelligences has been hailed by educators for decades and applied in hundreds of schools worldwide. In Frames of Mind, Gardner challenges the widely held notion that intelligence is a single general capacity possessed by every individual to a greater or lesser extent. In this updated edition, the author reflects on thirty years of work on Multiple Intelligences theory and practice.
In the decades since it was first introduced, Howard Gardner's multiple intelligences (MI) theory has transformed how people think about learning the world over. This expanded fourth edition provides educators at all levels with everything they need to apply MI theory to curriculum development, lesson planning, assessment, special education, cognitive skills, career development, educational policy, and more. This edition is updated to examine how emerging neurodiversity research, trends toward greater instructional personalization, and rapidly evolving virtual learning tools have affected the use of MI theory to enhance student achievement. It also includes brand-new lesson plans aligned to nationwide standards and a revised list of resources for further study.
This landmark paper, originally published on Siemens’s personal website in 2004 before being published in the International Journal of Instructional Technology and Distance Learning, has been cited thousands of times and is considered a landmark theory for the Internet age.
David A. Kolb’s model of experiential learning can be found in many discussions of the theory and practice of adult education, informal education and lifelong learning. This article sets out the model, and examines its possibilities and problems.
Starting research point for education research, from preschool to college.
The Education Resources Information Center (ERIC) is an index of education research developed and supported by the U.S. Department of Education. It lists 1.5 million sources dating from 1966 to the present, with robust search functions including a thesaurus of works and phrases that represent subjects in the field of education. A strength is its extensiveness and selectivity of English language education research, while a weakness is its limited options for full text. INSPIRE.
Full-text of core academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in 75 disciplines.
JSTOR is a collection of scholarly journal articles in the humanities and social sciences. It's entire collection contains around 2,000 journals, although local access will vary. These are subscriptions, and chosen individually, so each collection will reflect the focus of the institution. The collection's strength lies in its complete back issues of journal titles, while a weakness is a "moving wall" limiting access to the most recent journal issues. Subscription.