Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This database is maintained by the Library of Congress. It provides free access to legislative materials including bills, hearings, reports, debates, calendars, and statutes along with other government information such as presidential nominations and treaties.
Information on copyright law and policy.
Formerly GPO Access, this database provides electronic access to federal government publications.
The daily journal of the U.S. government. This website is a great source for agency names, contact information, announcements, proposed rules and regulations, executive statements, etc. There is a lot of information available at this site and it is easy to use.
Library of Congress Research Center
Index of state and local government information.
U.S. Government Accountability Office
The GAO web site offers full text of the reports of this subdivision of Congress. The GAO exists to assist Congress in investigating and holding accountable the various federal agencies that implement legislation. Its economic reports on federal programs are important sources of information on government agency performance.
As the U.S. government's official web portal, USA.gov makes it easy for the public to get U.S. government information and services on the web.
American Legal Publishing
Online library of selected municipal codes.
This Google-sponsored project gives access to current and historical constitutions from around the world. You can search across constitutions by more than 300 topics for comparative purposes.
Legal Information Institute
The LII publishes electronic versions of core materials in numerous areas of the law.
Free resource that provides access to over 3,100 online municipal codes. Access the city or state you need by clicking the Browse the Library tab on the home page. There is a library for each state. The library of codes for Indiana municipalities currently provides codes for 35 cities and counties.
A statistical database which allows you to research and compare a multitude of different data on US states. It compiles information from various primary sources such as the US Census Bureau, the FBI, and the National Center for Educational Statistics. The site allows you to create pie charts, maps, graphs and scatterplots. The site also has thousands of map and flag images, state profiles, and correlations.