Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Business Writing & Communication Books
The AMA Handbook of Business Letters by Though the fundamentals of letter writing have remained the same, the way we communicate in business is constantly evolving. Whether it's a formal printed letter or an email, the ability to write effective correspondence is essential for success--no matter what the industry. Containing more than 25 percent new material, The AMA Handbook of Business Letters provides readers with over 370 customizable model letters, divided into categories reflecting various aspects of business, including: * Sales, marketing, and public relations * Customer service * Human resources * Credit and collection * Letters to vendors and suppliers * Confirmations, requests, and replies * Permissions * And many more In addition, the book provides readers with a refresher course in the letter-writing basics, and helpful appendices listing common mistakes in grammar, word usage, and punctuation. Comprehensive--and now extensively updated--this invaluable resource provides professionals with an adaptable template for every conceivable business correspondence need.
Publication Date: 2012-07-11
The AMA Handbook of Business Writing by Just because you're not a born writer doesn't mean you should settle for less than perfect business documents. After all, every piece you write reflects directly on the quality of the product or service your business offers. Now, this helpful guide takes the guesswork out of more than 50 commonly used business documents, including: Reports * Proposals * Business plans * Presentations * Press releases * Memos * Email * Newsletters * Collection Letters * Sales materials * And more Arranged alphabetically and cross-referenced for easier use, the book presents clear examples of how to (and how not to) create winning materials every time. The authors' step-by-step instructions begin with an overview of the writing process, from preparation and research right through to final review and publication. Sample documents show you how your pieces should look and read, and close to 300 individual entries cover key points of grammar, style and spelling, and present strategies for writing more clearly, avoiding bias, eliminating clichés, and much more.
Publication Date: 2010-08-03
The Best Business Writing 2014 by This anthology of the year's best investigative business writing explores the secret dealings of an elite Wall Street society and uncovers the crimes and misadventures of the young founder of Silk Road, the wildly successful online illegal goods site known as the "eBay of vice." It reveals how the Fed dithered while the financial crisis unfolded and explains why the leaders of a two-trillion-dollar bond fund went to war with each other. Articles from the best newspapers and magazines in the country delve into how junk-food companies use science to get you to eat more and how Amazon dodges the tax man how J.Crew revitalized itself by transforming its creative process and Russell Brand went deep on media and marketing after his GQ Awards speech went haywire. Best Business Writing 2014 includes provocative essays on the NFL's cover-ups and corporate welfare, Silicon Valley's ultralibertarian culture, and the feminist critique of Sheryl Sandberg's career-advice book for women, Lean-In. Stories about toast, T-shirt making, and the slow death of the funeral business show the best writers can find worthy tales in even the most mundane subjects.
Publication Date: 2014-11-25
A Practical Guide to Business Writing by Nowadays, letters, reports and emails are vital components of business practice. Communication is increasingly global, but it's not any easier to understand or contribute to for non-fluent English speakers. There is increasing pressure to be able to produce effective documents for a business environment but little help out there to do so efficiently, resulting in wasted time and uncomfortable business communication. This book provides a wealth of practical information for any person who aims to produce short, effective documents within the work environment. It offers sensible, valuable and helpful rules for producing effective short reports, memos, letters and e-mails that are clear, concise and easy to read for the busy manager or supervisor working in the demanding setting of modern industry or commerce. But it goes further: not only are rules provided for the inexperienced business writer, but models are proposed which provide solutions for a whole host of business situations - providing help, support and encouragement for the many thousands of business writers who need to feel confident in their writing.
Publication Date: 2012-09-18
Say Anything to Anyone, Anywhere by The five steps to successful selling, negotiating, and managing multi-culturally Say Anything to Anyone, Anywhere gives readers five simple key guidelines to create rapport and organize strategies for success across different cultures. This book teaches to be proactive, not reactive, in your cross-cultural communications and shows how to use simple rapport tools to create trust with the cultures you work with or travel to. Learn how to organize productive interactions in person, on the phone, and by email. Discover interpersonal communication skills and virtual strategies that build strong relationships. Offers quick, accessible examples and clear guidelines about how to create an understanding between cultures Gives tips and strategies on how to communicate without offending Author Gayle Cotton is a Emmy Award Winner and a distinguished, highly sought after speaker, corporate trainer, and executive coach. This step-by-step guide to cross-cultural business will help you build strong relationships and manage successfully, no matter the cultural differences.
Publication Date: 2013-02-26
Writing Skills for Public Relations by Communicate effectively in writing, both to avoid misunderstanding and to keep the attention of readers, whatever the message might be.
Publication Date: 2012-12-01