Library of Congress: Browse digital copies of The Virginia Gazette (Williamsburg, VA, 1736--1781)--To select an issue, click on the blue numbers on the calendars.
New York Public Library Digital Collections: A New and Accurate Map of North America: laid down according to the latest, and most approved observations and discoveries (ca. 1763)
New York Public Library Digital Collections: View of Flushing (Long Island) North America (ca. 1765)
Libraries and Archives Canada (posted on Wikipedia): The Royal Proclamation of 1763 (original)
Yale Law School, Lillian Goldman Law Library, The Avalon Project: Documents in Law, History, and Diplomacy: The Royal Proclamation--October 7, 1763 (transcribed)
Library of Congress: Cantonment of His Majesty's Forces in N. America According to the Disposition Now Made & to Be Compleated as Soon as Practicable Taken from the General Distribution Dated at New York 29th. March 1766. (Click on map to zoom in and out.)
Internet Archive Wayback Machine: Sugar Act of 1764 (transcribed text)
American History Central: Petition from the Massachusetts House of Representatives to the House of Commons, 1764
American History Central: Governor Stephen Hopkins of Rhode Island published the pamphlet in 1765, objecting to the Sugar Act.
American History Central: Instructions to Boston's Representatives by Samuel Adams, May 28, 1764 (regarding Sugar Act)
Digital Public Library of America: The text of the 1765 Stamp Act, from a pamphlet printed in 1895.
Digital Public Library of America: An illustration of a Stamp Act protest in 1765.
American Battlefield Trust: The Resolutions of the Stamp Act, Congress, October 19, 1765
American Battlefield Trust: Quartering Act of 1765
National Archives: Founders Online: Benjamin Franklin to Deborah Franklin, 18 April 1765 (On Quartering Act of 1765)
American Battlefield Trust: Townshend Act, 1767
Massachusetts Historical Society Online: "We hear that there was held two or three evenings ago, an assembly of Ladies ..." (Article from page 2 of The Massachusetts Gazette Extraordinary, Number 3351, 24 December 1767--original and verbatim transcription side-by-side)
Massachusetts Historical Society Online: "A Circulatory Letter, directed to the Speakers of the respective Houses of Representatives and Burgesses on this Continent ... February 11, 1768" (original and verbatim transcription side-by-side)
American Battlefield Trust: Tea Act, 1773
Library of Congress: "The Bostonian's paying the excise-man, or tarring & feathering" (London : Printed for Robt. Sayer & J. Bennett, 1774 Oct. 31.)
American Battlefield Trust: John Adams, “Something Notable and Striking”: John Adams Writes about the Boston Tea Party, 1773 (transcription)
Yale Law School, Lillian Goldman Law Library: The Avalon Project: Documents in Law, History, and Diplomacy: The Philadelphia Resolutions, October 16, 1773
Yale Law School, Lillian Goldman Law Library: The Avalon Project: Documents in Law, History, and Diplomacy: Great Britain : Parliament - The Boston Port Act : March 31, 1774 (one of the Coercive Acts)
Yale Law School, Lillian Goldman Law Library: The Avalon Project: Documents in Law, History, and Diplomacy: Great Britain : Parliament - The Massachusetts Government Act; May 20, 1774 (one of the Coercive Acts)
Yale Law School, Lillian Goldman Law Library: The Avalon Project: Documents in Law, History, and Diplomacy: Great Britain : Parliament - The Administration of Justice Act; May 20, 1774 (one of the Coercive Acts)
Yale Law School, Lillian Goldman Law Library: The Avalon Project: Documents in Law, History, and Diplomacy: Great Britain : Parliament - The Quartering Act; June 2, 1774 (one of the Coercive Acts)
Digital Public Library of America: An illustration of the Boston Massacre, 1770. (Click on image to zoom in.)
American Battlefield Trust: Account of the Boston Massacre, March 12, 1770 (transcription)
Digital Public Library of America: Four illustrations depicting the battle of Lexington Green, 1775. (Scroll down in embedded box to view all images.)
American Battlefield Trust: "I Heard the Guns", Rebekah Fiske and the Battles of Lexington and Concord (transcription)
American Battlefield Trust: Abigail Adams to John Adams - "Remember The Ladies" (transcription)
National Archives: Founders Online: Abigail Adams to John Adams, 16 July 1775 (transcription)
Massachusetts Historical Society: Letter from Abigail Adams to John Adams, 31 March - 5 April 1776 (transcription)
American Battlefield Trust: “The Most Memorable Epocha”: John Adams Writes about The Declaration of Independence (letter from John Adams to wife Abigail Adams, 1776--transcription)
United States Senate: Primary Documents | Excerpt from "Thoughts on Government" (transcription)
National Archives: Founders Online: John Adams to Abigail Adams, 3 July 1776 (transcription)
Hanover Historical Texts Project: The Rights of the Colonists: The Report of the Committee of Correspondence
to the Boston Town Meeting, Nov. 20, 1772 (transcription)
Original Sources: Samuel Adams: On American Independence (1776) (transcription)
Project Gutenberg Public Domain eBooks: Autobiography of Benjamin Franklin
LibriVox Public Domain eAudiobooks: Autobiography of Benjamin Franklin
Library of Congress: Join or Die, by Benjamin Franklin, originally Illus. in: The Pennsylvania gazette, 1754 May 9.
National Archives: Founders Online: Alexander Hamilton correspondence and writings, Revolutionary War period (transcriptions)
National Archives: Founders Online: Alexander Hamilton: "The Farmer Refuted, &c.," [23 Feb.], 1775.
Red Hill Patrick Henry National Memorial: Patrick Henry's Speeches & Writings (includes "Give Me Liberty, or Give Me Death")
The Papers of Thomas Jefferson: Featured Documents
Library of Congress: Thomas Jefferson, June 1776, Rough Draft of the Declaration of Independence (Click on thumbnail to expand.)
Hamilton Education Program: Declaration of the Causes and Necessity for Taking Up Arms, 1775 (transcription; digital copy of original available for download)
The Online Library of Liberty: Thomas Paine's Common Sense, 1776 (transcript with image of cover)
Library of Congress: "Letter from Thomas Paine to the People of France," National gazette (Philadelphia [Pa.]), January 2, 1793
Massachusetts Historical Society: Correspondence of Mercy Otis Warren and Hannah Winthrop, 1752--1789 (Click on thumbnails to go to a page where you can see the document and transcription)
Project Gutenberg, Public Domain eBook: listings for Mercy Otis Warren
LibriVox Public Domain eAudiobooks: listings for Mercy Otis Warren
Project Gutenberg Public Domain eBooks: Poems on various subjects, religious and moral by Phillis Wheatley
LibriVox Public Domain eAudiobooks: Phillis Wheatley, list of works on LibriVox
Academy of American Poets: His Excellency General Washington by Phillis Wheatley
Hamilton Education Program: Phillis Wheatley’s Poem on Tyranny and Slavery, 1772 (transcription, digital copy of original available for download)
