National Archives Foundation: DocsTeach: Primary Sources: Explore Documents: Revolution & the New Nation (1754--1820s) (collection of primary source documents, artwork, maps, etc.)
National Archives Foundation: DocsTeach: Primary Sources: Explore Documents: Expansion & Reform (1801--1861) (collection of primary source documents, artwork, maps, etc.)
National Archives: Milestone Documents: Marbury v. Madison (1803) (scanned original and transcription)
Library of Congress: The looking glass for 1787. A house divided against itself cannot stand. Mat. chap. 13th verse 26 (political cartoon scan, Amos Doolittle, 1787
National Constitution Center: George Mason's Objections to the Constitution of Government formed by the Convention (1787) (transcription)
National Archives: Founders Online: Farewell Address, 19 September 1796 by George Washington (transcription)
U.S. Capital Visitor Center: Congressional Pugilists, anonymous cartoon, 1798
Library of Congress: Primary Documents in History: Full Text of The Federalist Papers, links to introduction page with original scanned documents, with links to all issues' transcripted contents to left
The Gilder Lehrman Institute of American History: History Resources: Thomas Jefferson's Opposition to the Federalists, 1810 (original scanned with transcription)
University of Michigan Library: Digital Collections: Observations on the new Constitution, and on the foederal and state conventions. By a Columbian patriot. ; Sic transit gloria Americana, by Mercy Otis Warren, [1788]
Teaching American History: Brutus Letters from the Federalist-Antifederalist Debates (links to Brutus 1-16, click on desired number; note that introduction paragraphs are not part of the primary source)
National Archives: Milestone Documents: Alien and Sedition Acts (1798) (scanned original and transcription)
National Archives: Docs Teach: Tally of Electoral Votes for the 1800 Presidential Election (scanned original)
National Archives: Founders Online: Thomas Jefferson to James Madison, 19 December 1800 (transcription)
National Archives: Founders Online: Thomas Jefferson to James Madison, 26 December 1800 (transcription)
National Archives: Founders Online: From John Adams to Elbridge Gerry, 30 December 1800 (transcription)
National Archives: Founders Online: John Adams to Thomas Boylston Adams, 17 December 1800 (transcription)
National Archives: Founders Online: Aaron Burr to Thomas Jefferson, 23 Dec. 1800 (transcription)
American Battlefield Trust: 1806: "Aaron Burr, Ex-Vice President of the United States" (transcription--text in italics is introduction and source credits; primary source material not italicized)
The Gilder Lehrman Institute of American History: Alexander Hamilton to Harrison Gray Otis (transcription--click here for scan of original)
National Archives: Founders Online: Alexander Hamilton to John Jay, 7 May 1800 (transcription)
Library of Congress: Image 793 of U.S. Statutes at Large, Volume 2 (1799-1813), 6th through 12th Congress. (June 18, 1812, declaration of war against Great Britain. Transcription.)
National Archives Catalog: Treaty of Peace and Amity Between the United States and Great Britain (Treaty of Ghent) (side by side scanned original and transcription)
Digital Public Library of America: A sheet of music from 1814 with the tune and words to “The Star Spangled Banner.” (by Francis Scott Key--scanned original)
Congress.gov: April 13, 1812, v. 24, pp. 1623--1624--Annals of Congress, 12th Congress (June 1, 1812, President James Madison sent a message to Congress asking for a declaration of war against Great Britain. Transcription.)
American Battlefield Trust: James Madison's 1814 State of the Union Address (Sept. 20, 1814--transcription)
American Battlefield Trust: War of 1812: "Address of General Jackson to the Soldiers and Citizens at New Orleans" (transcription)
Maryland State Archives: "Proclamation to the Free Inhabitants of Louisiana" (Major General Andrew Jackson's appeal to have freemen of color join the United State's Army against the British, published in Niles Weekly Register, Volume 7, December 3, 1814, page 13, scanned copy of original)
Digital Public Library of America: Andrew Jackson’s own description, in a letter to James Monroe, of the final conflict of the Battle of New Orleans on January 8, 1815. (scanned excerpt from Memoirs of Andrew Jackson, compiled by S. Putnam Waldo)
National Archives: Founders Online: William Henry Harrison to Thomas Jefferson, 30 December 1801 (transcription)
Hanover College History Department: Extract of letter from Governor Harrison to the Secretary of War, dated Headquarters near the Prophet’s Town, Nov. 8th, 1811. (transcription)
Clarke Historical Library, Central Michigan University: General Harrison to Major General Vincent (Nov. 3, 1813--transcription)
Digital Public Library of America: An 1813 poem celebrating Oliver Hazard Perry’s naval victory on Lake Erie. (scanned original)
Digital Public Library of America: An 1814 image with the title “Naval Heroes of the United States. (scanned original)
Toledo Lucas County Public Library Digital Collections: William Henry Harrison letter to John Armstrong regarding Perry's Victory (scanned original and transcription--click transcript under digital object--use arrows to move between pages)
Indiana University Digital Library: Memoirs of the administration of the colonial government of Lower-Canada by Sir James Henry Craig, and Sir George Prevost : from the year 1807 until the year 1815, comprehending the military and naval operations in the Canadas during the late war with the United Sates of America (scanned original book, use arrows to navigate pages)
Digital Archive Ontario: Lieutenant General Sir George Prevost (1812, portrait by Robert Dighton)
Wikisource: Letter to General George Prevost (1812) by Major General Sir Isaac Brock (transcription)
Wikisource: Lundy's Lane Battle--Drummond's Dispatch, Written from Lundy's Lane on the Next Day, to the Governor General, as Commander of the Forces at Montreal (transcription)
Tidridge: Dept. of Canadian and World Studies, Waterdown District High School, Canada: The Historical Laura Secord in her own words (as told by Secord to the Prince of Wales, future King Edward VII, when she was 85) (transcription)
Digital Public Library of America: An image of a council between William Henry Harrison and Native American leaders, including Tecumseh, August 1810.
American Battlefield Trust: 1812: Tecumseh's Promise Regarding Peace and War (transcription of speech)
Hamilton Education Program: A Letter from Aaron Burr to Alexander Hamilton, June 22, 1804 (original available for download; transcription provided)
National Archives: Founders Online: Statement on Impending Duel with Aaron Burr, [28 June–10 July 1804] [by Alexander Hamilton], (transcription)
The Gilder Lehrman Institute of American History: Aaron Burr to Joseph Alston, July 20, 1804 (link to transcription, original document can be viewed here)
