United States History, 1490--1864, Dr. Miguda

General Information

King Cotton & the Myth of the "Happy Slave"

Anchor Digital Textbook:  Primary Source: Fear of Insurrection

Digital Public Library of America:  Cotton Field in America; Threshing with a Bow; Cotton Plant (1762)

Shakers & Abolitionists

Winterthur Library Digital Collections: A collection of hymns from various authors / selected and transcribed by Lucy Jacobs. (1848--1865--use arrow above object to advance pages)

Hathi Trust: Authorized rules of the Shaker community, Given of the protection and guidance of the members in the several societies (1827--scroll to advance pages)

Enfield Shaker Museum: Shaker Writings (collection of primary documents)

Internet Archive: Narrative of the life of Frederick Douglass, an American slave (1846--scanned copy)

Internet Archive:  The Liberator (1831 by William Garrison--use magnifying glass to zoom)

Internet Archive:  The Church and Slavery (1857 by Albert Barnes)

Transcendentalism & American Literature

Women's Rights or Human Rights?

Internet Archive:  Slavery illustrated in its effects upon woman and domestic society (1837 by George Bourne)

Compromise of 1850

National Archives: Milestone Documents:  Compromise of 1850 (scanned original and transcription)

Dred Scott & John Brown

National Archives: Milestone Documents:  Dred Scott v. Sandford (1857) (scanned original and transcription)

Internet Archive:  The Dred Scott decision : opinion of Chief Justice Taney (1863--scanned original)

Election of 1860