The Revolutionary Era
by
The Schlager anthology of the American Revolution : a student's guide to essential primary sources
by
Library of Congress: The American Revolution, 1763--1783
National Archives: America's Founding Documents: Articles of Confederation (1777), (original scan and transcription)
National Archives: America's Founding Documents: The Bill of Rights: A Transcription; includes Transcription of the 1789 Joint Resolution of Congress Proposing 12 Amendments to the U.S. Constitution (original Bill of Rights thumbnail to right of transcript; click on magnifying glass icon to enlarge)
National Archives: America's Founding Documents: The Constitution of the United States: A Transcription (original Constitution thumbnail to right of transcript; click on magnifying glass icon to enlarge)
National Archives: America's Founding Documents: Declaration of Independence: A Transcription (original Declaration thumbnail to right of transcript; click on magnifying glass icon to enlarge)
Museum of the American Revolution: Washington's War Tent, 1777-1778
Museum of the American Revolution: Banners of Liberty: Online Exhibit (Images of flags primary sources; accompanying text is not primary)
National Archives: Milestone Documents: Treaty of Alliance with France (1778) (transcription)
Yale Law School: Lillian Goldman Law Library: The Avalon Project: Plan of the Treaties with France of 1778, Journals of Congress, Tuesday, Sept. 17, 1776 (transcription)
Yale Law School: Lillian Goldman Law Library: The Avalon Project: Treaty of Amity and Commerce Between The United States and France; February 6, 1778 (transcription)
American Revolution: Spain Offers Covert Aid to American Colonists – 1776 (translated transcription)
The Gilder Lehrman Institute of American History: Joseph Gardoqui & Hijos to Arthur Lee, Bilbao, Spain, April 4, 1778 (transcription)
HathiTrust, Google Books, University of Wisconsin: European treaties bearing on the history of the United States and its dependencies ... edited by Frances Gardiner Davenport v.4: Treaty of Alliance Between France and Spain concluded at Aranjuez, April 12, 1779 (text in transcripted French--type in 159 at bottom to go to first page of scan if it doesn't do it automatically)
National Archives: Founders Online: Joan Derk van der Capellen tot den Pol to John Adams: A Translation (16 Oct. 1780)
National Archives: Founders Online: Joan Derk van der Capellen tot den Pol to John Adams: A Translation (28 Nov. 1780)
Library of Congress: The European diligence, political cartoon, [1779]
National Archives Museum: Map of "Ambuscade of the Indians at Kingsbridge. August 31st. 1778." Records of the Office of the Chief of Engineers.
Rhode Island State Archives: Act creating the 1st Rhode Island Regiment, also known as the “Black Regiment,” 1778
National Archives: Founders Online: George Washington to the Commissioners of Indian Affairs, 13 March 1778
The British Museum: Satirical print: "The British lion engaging four powers" (1782--text of print is transcripted to left)
National Archives: Founders Online: Dialogue between Britain, France, Spain, Holland, Saxony and America by Benjamin Franklin, ca. 1774-1775
Library of Congress: The great financier, or British economy for the years 1763, 1764, 1765 (political cartoon, 1765)
United States House of Representatives: History, Art & Archives: King’s Proclamation for Suppressing Rebellion and Sedition (August 23, 1775)--click on thumbnails to switch from page 1 and 2; click on + to enlarge image)
Library of Congress: Virginia General Assembly, 1778, Resolution on Peace with Great Britain
Colonial Williamsburg Foundation: Teacher Institute: Yorktown Primary Source Collection: Excerpts from the Diary of Johann Conrad Döhla (transcription)
Internet Archive: Diary of the American War: A Hessian Journal by Captain Johann Ewald (1979 translation)
History Matters: "The Disturbances in America Give Great Trouble to All Our Nations": Mohawk Joseph Brant Comes to London to See the King, 1776
History Matters: We are Told that the Americans have 13 Councils Compos’d of Chiefs and Warriors: The Chickasaws Send a Message of Conciliation to Congress, 1783
America in Class: Loyalists at the Outbreak of the Revolution, 1775-1776 (transcription)
America in Class: "Treason in Mask of Liberty"; "The Patriots of North America: A Sketch, with Explanatory Notes" (transcription, 1775)
American Battlefield Trust: George Washington Describes the Continental Army's Needs, May 1777 (transcription)
National Archives: Founders Online: George Washington to the Captain of William Franklin’s Guard, 30 June 1776 (transcription)
National Archives: Founders Online: George Washington's writings in transcription (collection)
Documenting the American South: Colonial and State Records of North Carolina: Letter from Charles Cornwallis, Marquis Cornwallis to George Sackville Germain, Viscount Sackville Cornwallis, Charles Cornwallis, Marquis, 1738-1805March 17, 1781Volume 17, Pages 995-1001
Documenting the American South: Colonial and State Records of North Carolina: Letter from Charles Cornwallis, Marquis Cornwallis to Henry Clinton Cornwallis, Charles Cornwallis, Marquis, 1738-1805April 10, 1781Volume 17, Pages 1010-1012
Teaching American History: Letter from Lord Cornwallis to Lord Clinton (1781): Defeat at Yorktown (transcription)
George Washington's Mount Vernon: Articles of Capitulation, Yorktown (transcript)
National Archives: Founders Online: The American Commissioners to George Washington, [August or September 1777]
George Washington's Mount Vernon: Marquis de Lafayette to George Washington, September 8, 1781
National Archives: Founders Online: Alexander Hamilton to Marquis de Lafayette, [15 October 1781]
Massachusetts Historical Society: By the King, a Proclamation, For suppressing Rebellion and Sedition (1775, side-by-side transcription and original)
EBSCO Knowledge Advantage: Great Britain Issues The Proclamation of Rebellion (1775, transcription)
Royal UK: Historic Royal Speeches and Writings: George III (r. 1760--1820): Letter on the loss of America written in the 1780s (precise year unknown) (transcript)
The Gilder Lehrman Institute of American History: History Resources: Henry Knox on the British invasion of New York, 1776 (link includes scan of original document and transcription)
National Archives: Founders Online: Henry Knox to John Adams, 21 October 1781 (transcription)
Massachusetts Historical Society: Collections Online: Letter from Paul Revere to Jeremy Belknap, circa 1798 (includes scanned original and transcript)
Massachusetts Historical Society: Collections Online: Paul Revere's deposition, draft, circa 1775 (includes scanned original and transcript)
Massachusetts Historical Society: Collections Online: Letter from Paul Revere to William Eustis, 20 February 1804 [in support of a military pension for Deborah Sampson Gannett, who served in the Continental Army for seventeen months during the American Revolution disguised as a man]. (includes scanned original and transcript)
Document Bank of Virginia: Petition of James Lafayette, New Kent County, (1786, transcription)
George Washington's Mount Vernon: Lafayette's Testimonial to James Fayette (1784, transcription)
Southern Campaigns Revolutionary War Pension Applications & Rosters: VAS807 James La Fayette
Library of Congress: [Four coffins of men killed in the Boston Massacre], Revere, Paul, 1735-1818, engraver, [1770 March 12]
Massachusetts Historical Society: Adams' Minutes of Crown Evidence, Continued, 28 November 1770 (transcription)
Massachusetts Historical Society: "Boston, March 12. The Town of Boston affords a recent and melancholy Demonstration ..." (Article from pages 2-3 of The Boston-Gazette, and Country Journal, Number 779, 12 March 1770, side-by-side image & transcription, click on page numbers or Next button at top to read entire entry.)
Explore PA History: Original Document: Elias Boudinot's account of the spying of Lydia Darragh in Autumn, 1777 (transcription)
National Archives: Founders Online: William Dewees, Jr., to George Washington, 4 December 1777 (transcription--note: the actual letter doesn't mention Lydia by name, but note 1--an excerpt from Elijas Boudinot's journal and itself a primary source--states in paragraph 2 that the source was Lydia)
University of Michigan: William L. Clements Library: Nicholas Dietrich, Baron de Ottendorf Letter and Deposition of Miss Jenny, August 15, 1781. Henry Clinton Papers (scans of originals and transcriptions)
National Archives: Founders Online: George Washington to Martha Washington, 18 June 1775 (transcription)
Library of Congress: Martha Washington's Room, Washington's Headquarters, [i.e. Ford Mansion], Morristown, N.J.
George Washington's Mount Vernon: Martha Washington to Her Children, 1779 (scan of original--click Transcript tab to see transcription)
University of Michigan: William L. Clements Library: George Washington Letter to Benjamin Tallmadge, June 27, 1779. Henry Clinton Papers.
University of Michigan: William L. Clements Library: Benjamin Thompson Letter to an unidentified recipient, May 6, 1775. Thomas Gage Papers. (scans of original and transcription)
University of Michigan: William L. Clements Library: George Washington Letter to Benjamin Tallmadge, June 27, 1779. Henry Clinton Papers. (scans of original and transcription)
George Washington's Mount Vernon: Culper Code Book (scan of original--click Transcript for transcription)