United States History, 1490--1864, Dr. Miguda

During the American Civil War, the men fighting wrote about the tedium of army life and the horrors of battle in countless letters to relatives and loved ones back home. Rare, however, are missives from relatives to soldiers relating the details of what was occurring in the villages and towns unscarred by the conflict. Affectionately Yours includes transcriptions of sixty-five holograph letters written by members of the Ovid Butler family of Indianapolis.

This two-volume collection of Civil War newspapers provides a contemporaneous record of events, including rare Southern editions, battle reports, and engravings. It offers researchers a valuable primary source perspective on the era.

Before her wider fame as the author of Little Women, Louisa May Alcott achieved recognition for her accounts of her work as a volunteer nurse in an army hospital. Written during the winter of 1862-63, her dispatches appeared in the newspaper Commonwealth. These chronicles revealed the desperate realities of battlefield medicine as well as the tentative first steps of women in military service as well as reports of the era's medical practices.

Civil War Nurse Narratives, 1863-1870, examines the first wave of autobiographical narratives written by northern female nurses and published during the war and shortly thereafter, ranging from the well-known Louisa May Alcott to lesser-known figures such as Elvira Powers and Julia Wheelock. From the hospitals of Washington, DC, and Philadelphia, to the field at Gettysburg in the aftermath of the battle, to the camps bordering front lines during active combat, these nurse narrators reported on what they saw and experienced.

A collection of public policy actions, political speeches, and judicial decisions related to the American Civil War. This four-volume set gives scholars, teachers, and students easy access to the full texts of the most important, fundamental documents as well as hard-to-find, rarely published primary sources on this critical period in U.S. history.

This is a day-by-day diary of the Civil War years. It rings with authenticity while evoking the nostalgia, bitterness, and comedy of the Confederacy.

A collection of public policy actions, political speeches, and judicial decisions related to the American Civil War. This four-volume set gives scholars, teachers, and students easy access to the full texts of the most important, fundamental documents as well as hard-to-find, rarely published primary sources on this critical period in U.S. history.

A collection of public policy actions, political speeches, and judicial decisions related to the American Civil War. This four-volume set gives scholars, teachers, and students easy access to the full texts of the most important, fundamental documents as well as hard-to-find, rarely published primary sources on this critical period in U.S. history.

A collection of public policy actions, political speeches, and judicial decisions related to the American Civil War. This four-volume set gives scholars, teachers, and students easy access to the full texts of the most important, fundamental documents as well as hard-to-find, rarely published primary sources on this critical period in U.S. history.

Contains documents relating to American history from 1492 to 1962.Contains primary source material.

This anthology tells the fascinating story of how medicine was practiced in military hospitals and in the field during the Civil War by those who lived through it, including accounts by Louisa May Alcott and Walt Whitman.

A fascinating collection of primary sources on medical experiences in the US Civil War.

Presents the daily journal of Thomas Hart Benton McCain, a soldier in the 86th Indiana Volunteer Infantry during the American Civil War. The book offers an unvarnished and personal look into the life of an infantryman, providing a firsthand account of the conflict's mundane and harrowing realities.

Written while traveling through the Union and the Confederacy from March 1861 to April 1862 as a war correspondent for the "Times of London". Along the way he met and interviewed an impressive number of Union and Confederate leaders -- including Abraham Lincoln, Jefferson Davis, William H. Seward, and General George B. McClellan -- but he also canvassed average citizens on both sides, recounting their manners, appearance, values, and habits in remarkable detail. This memoir of his journey provides a vivid snapshot of American life and culture at the dawn of the Civil War.

Born into one of the best families of Baton Rouge, Sarah Morgan was not yet twenty when she began her diary in January 1862, nine months after the start of the Civil War. She was soon to experience a coming-of-age filled with the turmoil and upheaval that devastated the wartime South. She set down the events of the war in a record that questioned the society into which she was born and the meaning of the war for ordinary families like her own and for the divided nation as a whole.